Bluegrass Moms

Expert Bloggers

Featured Bloggers

  • MavenMama

    MavenMama

    I am married and the mother of three girls. Formerly an attorney I put my legal career on hold in 2003 when we adopted our youngest child from China. Since then I have been actively pursuing what I like to refer to as my "PhD in parenting", with sub-specialties in international adoption and special needs parenting. In between carpool runs, therapy appointments and volunteer work, I write about life. Most recently my work has appeared in From Home to Homeland, an anthology on returning to China with your adoptive child (Yeong & Yeong Book Company 2009 available on Amazon) and in Our Own - Stories Celebrating Adoptive Families (Touch Adoptive Services, 2010)
  • Notes from Parenting U

    Notes from Parenting U

    I am a stay-at-home mom of four children, ages sixteen to six. My husband and I spend our days dealing with high school woes, middle school challenges, elementary school joys and homeschool cunundrums. I am hopeful that someday we will have a "normal" day, but I am not holding my breath.
  • Daddy Diaries

    Daddy Diaries

    I'm a daddy and my little girl is almost five. My wife and I are loving watching her grow at this age, hearing her funny observations and enjoying her developing personality. For instance, last halloween our daughter chose Pippi Longstocking as her costume! that should provide some insight into her fun and sometimes mischievous personality! I work in Frankfort and love running and playing music. But the best times are with my little Pippi! She is a trip!
  • Besitos

    Besitos

    Altogether I've parented seven children.

    The oldest was born twenty-seven years ago and the youngest is ten.

    Four of my brood are boys and were birthed by moi.

    Three are girls; two of whom are stepdaughters I was blessed to help raise, and one is actually a sister (34 years my junior) that my late father left to me upon his death.

    My oldest son died in 2003, so I know a bit about loss. My stepdaughters have grown into beautiful women.

    So that leaves me with four at home now: a son who is in his first year at UK; my half-Thai, half-American sister/daughter who will graduate from high school this year; a preteen in his first year of middle school; and the youngest cub who will graduate from elementary school.

    Those are the facts of my life with children. What is missing from that description is what an utterly amazing, rich, awakening it is to bring those children up.

    That is what I will share with you, in part, during this blogging adventure.

    I am a lawyer by trade, and have a satisfying career. I am one of the lucky ones who still loves what she does nearly twenty five years out of law school. I work with wonderful professionals and each day is interesting.

    Apart from whose mom I am or what I do, I have some interests I'd love to explore with you. Food. Family. Health. And most importantly, the joy of living.

  • Real, Desperate Tales from a Housewife of Appalachia

    Real, Desperate Tales from a Housewife of Appalachia

    I’m a married mom of two school-age kids who unsuccessfully, but with some humor and much love, balances parenting, work, housekeeping, afterschool activity coordination, and dog training.