It is a shame that it took the death of a 2-year-old girl in Florida for states to introduce legislation that would punish someone who doesn't report a child missing, but unfortunately, that's the world we live in. Several states are prefiling or considering legislation in response to the recent verdict in the Casey Anthony trial. Anthony was found not guilty in the death of her 2-year-old daughter, Caylee. She did fail to report her daughter missing for a month, but Florida has no law against that. We are glad to see Kentucky standing up for children like Caylee with prefiled legislation by state Rep. Richard Henderson, D-Jeffersonville, that would make it a felony to wait more than 12 hours to report a missing child, age 12 and under. Those found guilty could face one to five years in prison. In Kentucky, it is illegal to abandon a child, but there is no set timetable for reporting one as missing. Henderson's bill, called Caylee's Law, would change that. In a perfect world, one would think parents would report their child missing promptly and legislation like this wouldn't be necessary, but after what we witnessed in Florida, it apparently is.