Copious Notes

Lexington Music Awards announces lifetime achievement award winners

Three standard bearers of traditional and bluegrass music, a longtime Lexington-based chart-topper and one of the Commonwealth’s most revered brass musicians make up the 2016 lifetime achievement award winners in the Lexington Music Awards.

The recipients will be honored at the Jan. 31 awards ceremony at the Lyric Theatre and Cultural Arts Center. They are:

J.D. CroweThe Lexington-native has enjoyed a six-decade career as a banjo master, band leader and band member and is considered one of the most influential musicians of the last century.

Vince DiMartinoBased in Danville, the trumpeter is widely respected across genres for his skill as a musician and music educator.

The McLain Family BandTouring all 50 states and dozens of countries, the familial ensemble has played an astonishing array of venues from the Grand Ole Opry to Carnegie Hall, and members continue active careers as performers and music educators.

J.P. PenningtonPennington is one of the founding members of the chart-topping band Exile, which continues as a going concern today.

Ricky Skaggs – Skaggs’ storied country and bluegrass career as a band leader, member and solo artist grew out of collaborations with a who’s who of Kentucky musicians including Keith Whitley and Crowe.

Read more about the lifetime achievement award winners later this month from Walter Tunis in the Jan. 29 Weekender and at

Follow Rich Copley on Facebook and on Twitter @LexGoKY.

If You Go

Lexington Music Awards

When: 6 p.m. Jan. 31

Where: Lyric Theatre and Cultural Arts Center, 300 E. Third St.

Tickets: $12