Latest News

Victories add up for Winburn

The "mathletes" from Winburn Middle School took top honors among 20 area school teams at Saturday's MathCounts competition.

Winburn and the second- and third-place teams from Lexington Traditional Magnet School and SCAPA of the Bluegrass, respectively, advance to the state MathCounts competition March 28 at Lexington's Holiday Inn-North.

At the Bluegrass Regional, Valerie Sarge of Winburn took top individual honors among the 150 mathletes in the problem-solving competition, sponsored locally by the Kentucky Society of Professional Engineers' Bluegrass Chapter.

Valerie won a $500 scholarship and will compete against other Kentucky mathletes at the state competition for more scholarship money.

The top four finishers at the state level are offered full-tuition four-year scholarships to the University of Kentucky or University of Louisville and advance to the national finals in May at Walt Disney World.

The Winburn team, coached by math teacher Devin Onkst and UK math education professor Xin Ma, also included Vania Ma, Matthew Wu and Melanie Schmocker.

In addition to the three teams advancing to the state tournament, eight other individuals qualified: Elaine Lin of Beaumont Middle, Noah Dixon of West Jessamine Middle, Victoria Zachman and Hussain Siddiqi of Lexington Traditional Magnet School, Barret Block and Robin Lohe of Edythe J. Hayes Middle, Nelson Ng of Bryan Station Traditional Magnet School, and Rui Sun of Morton Middle.