Latest News

Police recognize achievers

The Lexington Division of Police honored exemplary employees and citizens at its annual awards banquet Monday night.

Some of those receiving recognition include: Det. Kevin Duane, Police Officer of the Year; Sgt. Robert Williams, Supervisor of the Year; Det. Timothy Ballinger, Detective of the Year; Officer James Hall, Patrol Officer of the Year; Anita Capillo, Civilian Employee of the Year; Officer Darin Salyer, Field Training Officer of the Year; and Diane Lamendola, Customer Service of the Year.

Officer Nicholas Whitcomb was awarded a Purple Heart, which is given to those injured or wounded in the line of duty. Officer Jamie Johnson received a Life Saving Award. And Officer Anthony Guidugli received a Medal of Merit, which is presented to employees "for courageous service of exceptional character."

Citizen service medals -- which recognize citizens who have acted to save a life, prevent serious bodily harm or stop a major crime in progress -- were awarded to Robert Charles, Brandon Crabtree and Catherine Gordon. A meritorious service award, which recognizes other law enforcement agencies for the same kinds of acts, was presented to Officer Steve Newell of the Kentucky Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control.

Distinguished Service Awards went to citizens Donna Burus, Dr. Leland Irwin, Nicole Pieratt and Tabitha Schnell and to police employees Officer Charles Ferrell, Det. David Hume, Officer Robert Terry and Anita Capillo.