Latest News

At-large council race draws candidates

A crowd of candidates will compete for Lexington's at-large Urban County Council seats.

The filing deadline for council races was 4 p.m. Tuesday. According to the filings, 10 people will run for the three at-large council seats, and five incumbent council members face opposition. At-large members represent the entire city.

The at-large field is a little larger than in most years, according to the Fayette County clerk's office, but it's about average for the district seats, where some members face competition.

Seven of council's 15 members will not face opposition for re-eleciton.

Running at-large are incumbents Linda Gorton and Chuck Ellinger II. The other candidates are Kathy Plomin, George Brown Jr., Don Pratt, Lamin Swann, Ismael Shalash, Steve Kay, Ralph Ruschell and Christopher Hignite.

The May primary election will reduce the field to six candidates. In November, three candidates will be elected. The top vote-getter becomes vice mayor.

The incumbent vice mayor, Jim Gray, is running for mayor.

In the district races, the 1st and 10th districts have three candidates each. That guarantees a May primary for those districts to reduce the field to two candidates for the fall election.

In the economically and racially diverse 1st District, Marty Clifford, Jeremy Law and Chris Ford have filed to run for Andrea James' seat. James, in her first term on council, is moving out of the district and, therefore, is not eligible to run.

In the 10th District, which includes the Palomar, Beaumont and Pasadena neighborhoods, incumbent Doug Martin faces Sandy Shafer and Kevin Williams. Shafer represented that district for a number of years.

In three other districts, the incumbent faces a single opponent, so there will not be primary contests. In the 4th District, mostly Lansdowne, incumbent Julian Beard will face John Samuel Cox.

In the 5th District, Chevy Chase, incumbent Cheryl Blanton Feigel will run against former council member Bill Farmer Jr.

In the 7th District, which covers Andover, incumbent K.C. Crosbie goes up against Chris Logan.

In all the other districts, the incumbent is running for re-election and will not have opposition. They are Tom Blues in the 2nd District; Diane Lawless, 3rd District; Kevin Stinnett, 6th District; George Myers, 8th District; Jay McChord, 9th District, Peggy Henson, 11th District; and Ed Lane, 12th District.

Related stories from Lexington Herald Leader