Latest News

Filings for Fayette countywide races

Renee True, former longtime Fayette County property valuation administrator, will campaign to get back the job from which she retired — midway through her term — in January 2009. True retired because of a state pension incentive. Soon after, she asked Gov. Steve Beshear to appoint her to the job. Instead, Beshear named David O'Neill, the Fayette County Democratic Party chairman.

True and O'Neill will face off on the May primary ballot, with the winner going against Republican Jay Whitehead. The filings for other Fayette County races:

County judge/executive: Democrats Sandra Varellas ( incumbent) and Robert Strother Sr.; Republican Jon Larson

Sheriff: Democrats Kathy Witt (incumbent) and Sue Neff

Constable, District 1: Democrats Joyce Clater and Gary Carrigan

Constable, District 2: Democrats Lynda Myers Winburn, Kevin Todd and Jim Greathouse; Republicans Andrew Lynn (incumbent) and Jim McKenzie

Constable, District 3: Democrats K.W. Winburn and Harold Winings; Republicans Edward Sparks and Steve Dieterich

Democrats running without opposition: Larry Roberts, county attorney; Don Blevins, Jr., county clerk; Karen Shrader, 1st District county commissioner; Jim Ballard, 2nd District county commissioner; Gary Ginn, coroner; Carroll Stephenson, 1st District magistrate; Frances Esenbock, 3rd District magistrate. Republicans running without opposition: Ronald Berry, surveyor; Lisa Moore Fath, 2nd District magistrate.

Beverly Fortune

Related stories from Lexington Herald Leader