Ichthus gets its lineup in order for 40th festival

The Ichthus Festival continues to work on the overall schedule for its 40th edition, but it has locked in the headliners.

The nighttime pairings bring distinct flavors to each evening. June 11 is very youthful, dancy rock with Family Force 5 and Hawk Nelson. June 12 looks to be rock night with Skillet and Kutless, and then things get worshipful on the closing night with Israel Houghton and New Breed, and Delirious. Festival director Jeff James says they plan to make a big deal out of the Delirious set, as it will be the band's last festival appearance. The ground-breaking worship band is splitting up later this year.

Other bands already announced include Fireflight, Disciple, Stellar Kart, and The Afters. We'll let you know when acts are added.

Speakers include a Lexington mega-church double-header June 13 with Southland Christian's Jon Weece in the afternoon and Quest Community Church's Pete Hise in the evening. The opening night speaker will be Justin Lookadoo, whose Saturday talk last year included a skydiver.

If you're planning to go, there are just a couple of weeks left before the next ticket price increase, March 14.

Dove nominations

Late last week, the Gospel Music Association announced nominees for the 2009 Dove Awards, and Lexingtonian Paula Stefanovich is up for Southern Gospel recorded song of the year for writing Yaweh, recorded by The Hoppers.

Once again, Chris Tomlin leads the pack. His most recent effort, Hello Love, helped him garner seven nominations. Close behind the Texan are Natalie Grant and newcomer Francesca Battistelli, with five each.

Battistelli, who made a splash last year with I'm Letting Go, is on the lineup for Winter Jam, which comes to Rupp Arena at 6 p.m. March 7, with tobyMac and Hawk Nelson headlining. Tickets are $10 at the door. Check back here next week to read more about what toby's up to.

Back to the Doves, this year, viewers get to weigh in on two categories: artist of the year and new artist of the year. Voting in these categories goes through the broadcast at 8 p.m. April 23. The fan vote will count as one-third of the overall vote in those categories. Here are those nominees:

Artist of the year: Casting Crowns, Steven Curtis Chapman, Fireflight, Marvin Sapp, Third Day, TobyMac, and Chris Tomlin.

New artist of the year: Addison Road, Francesca Battistelli, Fee, Jonathan Nelson, Remedy Drive, Chris Sligh, and Tenth Avenue North.

Visit to vote and for a complete list of nominees.

Once again, the Doves will be carried on the Gospel Music Channel, which is not available in Lexington on Insight cable. It is available on Dish Network at Channel 338. Gospel Music Channel is available on other Central Kentucky cable systems.

At, you can search to see whether the channel is available in your area and send your cable system a request to add it, if it's not.