Business awards: Week of Sept. 21

Dr. James 
Patrick Murphy
Dr. James Patrick Murphy

Integrated Engineering, a professional civil engineering, landscape architecture, and surveying firm, was named the 2015 Small Business of the Year at the Commerce Lexington Salute to Small Business Awards luncheon. The recipient of this year's Minority Business Award, Integrated Engineering was selected from six category winners as the Small Business of the Year. The company will be considered for state and national recognition through the U.S. Small Business Administration. The firm is located at 166 Prosperous Place and was started in 2006 by Harsha Wijesiri. Today the firm has 19 employees and offices in Lexington, Louisville and Florence.

2015 Salute to Small Business Category Award Winners:

Business Success Award: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites

Green Initiative Award: CDP Engineers, Inc.

Legacy Award: Milward Funeral Directors

Minority Business Award: Integrated Engineering

Nonprofit Award: Downtown Lexington Corp.

Young Entrepreneur Award: Crank & Boom Ice Cream Lounge

Find out more about each of the category award winners at

Chris Burton, owner of PJ's Magical Events, has passed the exam to become a Certified Balloon Artist. This designation is given to balloon professionals who have demonstrated their knowledge of the industry and their ability to produce high-quality balloon work. The CBA designation is the only one in the balloon industry. There are currently more than 2,000 Certified Balloon Artist professionals worldwide, including Burton. Phone: (859) 619-0477.

Cathy Schenck, head librarian at the Keeneland Library has been named winner of the National Turf Writers and Broadcasters' 2015 Joe Palmer Award for Meritorious Service to Racing. The award will be presented Oct. 28 during the organization's 56th annual awards dinner at the Marriott Griffin Gate Resort & Spa in Lexington.

Schenck, who has worked at the library since 1978, has been a resource to thousands of racing fans, journalists, writers, college professors, historians and others seeking information about the Thoroughbred industry for articles, books or other projects and for their personal use. Among those who have benefited from her expertise is Laura Hillenbrand, author of the best-selling Seabscuit: An American Legend.

Bennie and Cheryllee Sargent have been recognized as the 2015 Friend of the University of Kentucky's Ag Equine Programs during the Equine Science and Management program reception Sept. 8 at Spindletop Hall.

Based out of Paris, the Sargents, who own Sargent Quarter Horses, have been supporters of UK's equine programming efforts for almost 20 years. Bennie served as coach of the UK Equestrian Team, western division, has been a trainer for more than 35 years and was named the 2006 AQHA Horseman of the Year.

Bob Coleman, director of undergraduate studies in equine science and management and equine extension professor and UK Equestrian Team faculty adviser, nominated the couple for the honor.

Kentucky's third annual Bluegrass Wellness at Work Fitness Challenge, a competition for Lexington-area companies to improve employee health using a custom smartphone app, has named its award winners for 2015. Proceeds from the program benefit Kentucky children and families receiving mental and behavioral health care services, including foster care.

Platinum level awardees for 2015 are: Assured Neace Lukens, Central Bank, Clark Material Handling, Commonwealth Eye Surgery, Frost Brown Todd, Gray Construction, KC Wellness, Kentucky Bank, KVC Kentucky and the Lexington-Fayette County Health Department. Silver level awardees are: United Way of the Bluegrass and Central Kentucky Radio Eye.

Dr. Mary Helen Davis, Louisville; Dr. John Johnstone, Richmond; Dr. Benjamin Kutnicki, Warsaw; Dr. Theodore Miller, Edgewood; Dr. James Patrick Murphy, Louisville; and Dr. Nancy Swikert and Dr. Donald Swikert, both of Florence, have been recognized for completing the Kentucky Medical Association Community Connector Leadership Program. It prepares and supports physicians in leadership roles and offers grants to nonprofit organizations.

Compiled by Dorothea Wingo