Business awards: Week of Sept. 28

Ken Warden
Ken Warden

Court Appointed Special Advocates of Lexington has been named Kentucky's CASA Program of the Year. Over the past 21/2 years, CASA of Lexington has increased its number of active advocates from 26 to 114, its staff from three to seven and has increased its caseload from 120 children to more than 300.

Children with an advocate spend 7.5 fewer months in foster care, experience fewer out of home placements and have improved educational performance. To become a CASA volunteer, call (859) 246-4313. To make a donation or learn more about CASA of Lexington, go to

First Security Bank, based in Owensboro, has received the Small Business of the Year award from the Southwest Indiana Chamber of Commerce. First Security expanded into the Evansville market in 2008, after the acquisition of Warrick Loan and Savings Co. of Boonville, Ind. In 2012, the bank expanded its reach with the acquisition of a former Integra Bank branch in Newburgh, Ind.

Later that year, it completed the purchase of four floors of the main office of the former Integra Bank headquarters at 21 Southeast Third Street in Evansville. The bank now employs about 150 people, of which 22 work in the Evansville market.

First Security Bank is a $570 million asset bank with 11 banking centers in Owensboro, Bowling Green, Franklin and Lexington, as well as Evansville and Newburgh.

Whisky Magazine has named its Icons of Whisky America 2016, and several Kentucky connections made the list.

Bernie Lubbers, Heaven Hill Brands, was named American Whisky Ambassador of the Year; Jim Beam, Beam Suntory, was named Brand Innovator of the Year; Heaven Hill Brands was named Distiller of the Year; Todd Roe, Woodford Reserve Distillery, was named Distillery Manager of the Year; Harlen Wheatley, Buffalo Trace Distillery, was named Master Distiller/Master Blender of the Year; Dee Ford, Woodford Reserve, was named Visitor Attraction Manager of the Year; Evan Williams Bourbon Experience, on Louisville's Whiskey Row, was named Visitor Attraction of the Year.

For more information about the awards or to view the full results, go to

Compiled by Dorothea Wingo