Business awards

Affiliated Computer Services has received the Partnership of the Year Award from the Kentucky Office for the Blind. The award recognizes the contributions of individuals or organizations that have assisted the agency in accomplishing its mission, which includes finding jobs for the blind and visually impaired.

Clays Mill Veterinary Clinic located at 625 Delzan Place has again received accreditation by the American Animal Hospital Association. The evaluation includes a quality assessment review of the hospital's facility, medical equipment, practice methods and pet health care management. Only 15 percent of all small animal veterinary practices in the U.S. have been accredited by the AAHA.

The Berea College Board of Trustees has announced it will rename two of its centers after individuals whose distinguished careers and accomplishments have earned such recognition. In the spring of 2009 the college's Campus Christian Center will be renamed the Willis D. Weatherford Jr. Campus Christian Center. Weatherford is a former president of Berea College. The college's Appalachian Center will be renamed the Loyal Jones Appalachian Center. Jones was a director of the center for 23 years and retired from the college in 1993.

The Lexington Medical Society has honored Joseph A. Toy, former president and CEO of the Bluegrass Regional Mental Health-Mental Retardation Board, with its Lay Person award for his decades-long commitment to Lexington's mental health community. Dr. James W. Holsinger was awarded the Jack Trevey Community Service Award for his devotion to health care and education at the collegiate, state and federal levels. Holsinger worked in the Veteran's Health Administration for 26 years and was undersecretary for Health and Human Services. He subsequently served as senior vice president and chancellor of the University of Kentucky Chandler Medical Center and was later nominated by President George W. Bush to serve as Surgeon General of the United States.

Sen. Mitch McConnell has received the National Association of Manufacturers Award for Manufacturing Legislative Excellence. The NAM award is given to members of the House and Senate who support key manufacturing votes 70 percent or more of the time. McConnell's record was 100 percent.

Woodrow Wilson, a member of the Lexington-Bluegrass Association of Realtors, has been named the 2008 Nat Sanders Educator of the Year award. This award recognizes a Realtor who has made significant contributions to real estate education at either the state, local or national level.

Compiled by Dorothea Wingo