Business awards

Edward D. Hall, director of the University of Kentucky Spinal Cord & Brain Injury Research Center, has been inducted into the National Spinal Cord Injury Association's Hall of Fame. A professor in the UK College of Medicine's departments of anatomy and neurobiology, neurology and neurosurgery, Hall focuses his research on pharmacological treatments for acute brain and spinal cord injuries.

Dr. John Johns, a Lexington resident and a retired extension professor and beef specialist from the University of Kentucky, has been presented with the Newell G. Hicks Vision Award at the North American International Livestock Exposition (NAILE). The award is presented to an individual who has employed professional excellence at the NAILE. He is the 17th recipient of the award.

The Kentucky Association of Health Care Facilities has recognized Paul Shepard, administrator at Cumberland Valley Manor in Burkesville, as the statewide administrator of the year. Bourbon Heights in Paris was recognized by the KAHCF as the 2008 facility of the year.

The Kentucky Association of Convenience Stores has named Girkin Development, dba Minit Mart, managed by Fred M. Higgins, Bowling Green, as the 2008 convenience store of the year. James Neumann, vice president of Valumarkets in Louisville, has been named the 2008 grocer of the year.

The Kentucky Tourism Council has presented the following individuals or businesses with awards at its annual conference in Bowling Green. Bob Stewart, former commissioner of the Kentucky Department of Travel, received the council's highest honor, the Mangeot-Oaken Distinguished Service Award. Eric Rose, Newport Aquarium, has been named named member of the year. Robin Tabor, Lake Barkley Tourist Commission, has been named rookie of the year. Shaker Village of Pleasant Hill received the best of show award in the 2008 Traverse Awards.

Bill Lear, Lexington, C. Bruce Traughber, Louisville, and the late Jim Coleman, Winchester, have been inducted into the Economic Development Hall of Fame by the Kentucky Association for Economic Development. Lear was honored for his work on behalf of economic development in the Kentucky legislature and his development work and community involvement in downtown Lexington. Traughber was honored for his contributions to Slugger Field and Fourth Street Live. Coleman was honored posthumously for his work as chair of the Winchester-Clark County Industrial Development Authority.

Compiled by Dorothea Wingo