WKYT, WLEX, WUKY honored by AP

The 2009 Kentucky Associated Press Broadcasters awards were announced Tuesday. Television and radio stations in Lexington compete only against those in Louisville. Media outlets in smaller cities are in a different class. Lexington stations received the following first-place awards:


Best Special — Series/Documentary: WKYT's "Inside Kentucky Basketball" by Dick Gabriel, Steve Moss and Greg Gorham.

Best Hard News Feature: WKYT's "Rotten Neighbors" by Mark Kennedy and Barton Bill.

Best Sports Feature: WLEX's "Too Legit to Quit" by Amanda Hara and Devon Ramage.

Best Web site: WLEX.

Best TV News Anchor: WKYT's Amber Philpott.

Best TV News Videographer: WLEX's Zach Tucker.

Best TV Weather Anchor: WKYT's T.G. Shuck.


Best Sports Feature/Special: WUKY's "Bill Keightley Project" by Alan Lytle and Doug Boyd.

Best Use of Sound: WUKY's "Cicadas" by Carol Spence.