Business Awards

Seven individuals have been inducted into the Kentucky Bourbon Hall of Fame, thus receiving the industry's highest honor. New members include: David M. Beam, Jim Beam Brands Co.; John Henry "Jack" Beam, Brown-Forman; Tom Bulleit, Bulleit Distilling; Charles K. Cowdery, Made and Bottled in Kentucky; Frank M. Dailey, Kentucky Distillers' Association; Mary Jane Dickerson, Kentucky Bourbon Festival; and Edward S. Monohan III, Schenley Distillers.

Potter & Co., an accounting and consulting firm with offices in Lexington and Louisville, has received a 2009 Alfred P. Sloan Award for Business Excellence in Workplace Flexibility. Applicants were benchmarked against other national companies regarding implementation of effective workplace flexibility practices. A select group of companies won the award, placing them nationally in the top 5 percent of companies.

The Scott County Board of Education has received a 2009 Employer Recognition Award from the Office of Vocational Rehabilitation. The award recognizes exemplary practices in hiring Kentuckians with disabilities.

The Center for Rural Development has presented its 2009 Excellence in Entrepreneurship Awards. The 2009 EIEA recipients in their respective categories are as follows: For-Profit Business: Paul D. Nesbitt, owner, Nesbitt Engineering with offices in Lexington, Hazard and Prestonsburg; For-Profit Small Business: Charlie Pinson, president/owner, Charlie Pinson Insurance, Pikeville; Start-up Business: Larry and April Murray, owners, Your Secret Chef/Chef on the Run Catering, London; Not-for-Profit Business: Steve Yeary, executive director, Appalachian Children's Home, Barbourville.

Compiled by Dorothea Wingo