Personnel File

Eli Mertens
Eli Mertens


Kentucky Bank: William Amrhein has joined Stantec's Lexington office, where he will be responsible for bridge design and project management with the firm's transportation practice.


United Bank: Bob Armstrong has joined as senior vice president and chief credit officer; David Rice has been promoted to branch manager of the Hamburg office in Lexington; and Elizabeth Hobbs has been promoted to vice president and senior loan officer of United Bank in Jessamine County.


Dinsmore & Shohl LLP: Kerry Irwin has joined the firm's Lexington office as an associate in the Corporate Department and member of the Gaming and Securities Practice Groups.

McBrayer, McGinnis, Leslie & Kirkland, PLLC: Cecil F. Dunn and Jason S. Morgan have joined the firm's Lexington office. Dunn joins the firm as of counsel and focuses his practice on multi-family housing for low and moderate income individuals and families. Morgan joins the firm as associate and focuses his practice on insurance defense, real estate development, residential and commercial construction, and small business management.

Reinhardt & Associates: Daniel C. Mack has joined the firm as an associate. His areas of practice include medical malpractice defense, insurance fraud investigations, insurance defense and personal injury defense.


The Lexington Medical Society: The following have been elected officers for 2012: Dr. Larry L. Cunningham, Jr., president elect; Dr. Thomas K. Slabaugh, Jr., vice president-elect; Dr. Kaveh R. Sajadi, secretary-treasurer elect. Taking office on Jan. 1 will be: Dr. Bruce C. Broudy, president; Dr. Thomas H. Waid, vice president; Dr. Rice C. Leach, secretary-treasurer.

Special Olympics Kentucky: Garry Gupton has been named president. He is the second president and CEO in the program's 41-year history, replacing Dave Kerchner, who announced his retirement in June.

Eastern Kentucky University Center for the Arts Community Operations Board: The following have been elected officers for the 2011-12 term; Bob Rogow, dean of Eastern Kentucky University's College of Business & Technology, was re-elected as chair of the board. Other officers re-elected were David Fernandez, vice chair, and Barry Poynter, treasurer.

Fernandez was re-appointed by Richmond Mayor Jim Barnes to another two-year term on the board. The other City of Richmond appointee, Virginia Rollins, has one year remaining on her two-year term.

Diane Kerby was re-appointed to another two-year term by Berea Mayor Steve Connelly.

Jan Tunnell and Buzz Cornelison were re-appointed to two-year terms on the board by Madison County Judge-Executive Kent Clark, and Clark and Kathy Eidson have one year remaining on their two-year terms.

EKU representatives, appointed by President Doug Whitlock, on the board are: Rogow and Dr. Richard Crosby, reappointed for two-year terms; Jill Price, Poynter and Cheryl Stone, all of whom have one year remaining on their two-year terms; and Marc Whitt, newly appointed to a two-year term. Whitt has served the past four years an an ex officio member of the board.

The funding strategy for the center was unique because it joined state, county and university resources. The board, consisting of representatives of EKU, the cities of Richmond and Berea, and Madison County, was established to oversee design, construction and operations.

Debra Hoskins was named in January to serve as executive director of the center.

The American Association of Equine Practitioners (AAEP) has installed Lexington equine veterinarian James Morehead, DVM, as its treasurer.

The Bluegrass Tourism Marketing Association's 2012 Board of Directors:

President: Eli Mertens, TravelHost of the Bluegrass

Vice President of Membership: Kelly Bates, Commerce Lexington

Vice President of Programming: Becky Trimble, Lexington Center Corporation

Secretary: Anne Garlick, Homewood Suites of Lexington/Hamburg

Treasurer: Windy Lane, Hyatt Place Lexington

Director-at-Large: Rosalie Swann, Swann's Nest Bed and Breakfast

Director-at-Large: Linda Wharton, Lexington In Touch

Director-at-Large: Tiffany Yarborough, Avis Rent-a-Car of Lexington

Director-at-Large: Lisa Jackson, Kentucky Horse Park

Director-at-Large: Sasha Higgins, Pillar Hotels


Winchester Retirement Place: Assistant Clark County Attorney Christopher M. Davis has been elected to the retirement community's board.

Kentucky State Parks Foundation has elected the following 2012 officers to the board of directors.

Chairman: Jim Lobb, Louisville

Vice Chairman: Doug Eberhart, Louisville

Treasurer: Charlie Miller, Prestonsburg

Asst. Treasurer: Alice Sparks, Fort Mitchell

Secretary: Louis Stout, Lexington

Columbia Gas of Kentucky: Ken Catron has been named damage prevention coordinator. Catron will work with excavators throughout the company's service area, providing education about Kentucky's law that requires excavators to "call before you dig."

Gregg Long has been named new business development manager, representing Columbia Gas of Kentucky in the construction community.

Toyota Motor Manufacturing, Kentucky: Walt Odisho has been named vice president of manufacturing.

E.D. Bullard Company: Eric D. Pasch has been appointed as president and chief executive officer, effective January 1.

Paladin, Inc.: John Goodin received his Certified Commissioning Authority certification by the AABC Commissioning Group.

Compiled by Dorothea Wingo

Send items about professional personnel changes to or Personnel File, Business Monday, Lexington Herald-Leader, 100 Midland Avenue, Lexington, Ky. 40508. Include a contact person's name and number. All photos must be emailed as JPEG images.