Business awards: Week of Nov. 19

Alan Long

■ The Lexington-Fayette Environmental Commission presented its 42nd annual Environmental Commission Awards on Nov. 9 to the following individuals, organizations and businesses that have contributed to the improvement of the local environment during the Past two years:

Coca-Cola Refreshments USA, Watershed Stewardship; Fayette County Public Schools, Environmental Education & Community Partnerships; Kentucky Utilities Commitment to Earth Month Party for the Planet @ The Arboretum; Ross Tarrant Architects, Gold Standard Green Building Design & Green Philosophy; and Stout Printing, recycling with a small business.

Certificates of Appreciation were awarded to: FUSION, UK Center for Outreach in the Community; Kentucky Utilities Commitment to Reforest the Bluegrass; KU Plant for the Planet @ McConnell Springs, Right Tree for the Right Place; Rebecca Glasscock, Peace & Global Citizenship Fair; UK, Sustainable Agricultural and Food System Working Group; and UK Athletics Department, Game Day Recycling.

■ The American Diabetes Association honored the following local volunteers and businesses for their commitment to stop diabetes at the 2012 American Diabetes Association Gala:

Dr. Stephen L. Pohl, Kentucky American Diabetes Association Hall of Fame Award; Brenda Sampson, Central Baptist Hospital Volunteer of the Year Award; Dr. and Mrs. L.B. Branch and Andrea Curtis, Central Baptist Hospital Family of the Year Award; Keeneland Association, Corporate Partner of the Year Award; Nancy Garth, Lawrence T. Smith Leadership Award; and Lindsey DeMoss, R. Stewart Perry Cure, Care Commitment Award.

ConnectKentucky honored the state's technology leaders at its 2012 Tech Day on Nov. 13 at the George and Ellen Rieveschl Digitorium in Griffin Hall at Northern Kentucky University.

Kentucky Teleworks and the Eastern Kentucky Concentrated Employment Program won the Small Business Technology Award. Start-up business Gamigen, in Newport, won the New and Emerging Business Technology Award. Trevor Schmitz of Northern Kentucky University was awarded the Postsecondary Student Technology Award. Marion County Public Schools won the School District Technology Award. The Department of Chemistry at Eastern Kentucky University won the Postsecondary Institution Technology Award. Kentucky Educational Television was awarded the Government Leadership in Technology Award. For more information, go to

■ Harrodsburg/Mercer County Tourist Commission executive director Karen P. Hackett has been named this year's Mangeot-Oaken Distinguished Service Award winner for her contributions to the travel and tourism industry. The award is the highest honor given by the Kentucky Travel Industry Association. It is named for industry leaders Daniel Mangeot and Mary Ray Oaken for their dedication to developing, promoting and protecting Kentucky's tourism industry.

Alan Long, managing partner of Baldwin CPAs, has been named a Managing Partner Elite in the October issue of Accounting Today. The inaugural list recognizes 10 leaders who are making a difference in the accounting industry.

Long was chosen for being an early adopter of new technology and ensuring that his firm is on the cutting-edge of industry practices.

Jana Smoot White, a Fowler Bell associate, has been selected as a 2012 Rising Star with the Lexington Young Professionals Association. White was recognized for being an aspiring leader for her contributions professionally and philanthropically.

Adam Shewmaker of Dean Dorton Allen Ford has been awarded the certification of Fellow by the Healthcare Financial Management Association. Shewmaker, an HFMA member since 2007 and HFMA Kentucky participant, earned the designation by demonstrating a significant level of expertise, service, and commitment to transforming the health care finance industry. He is a manager in the healthcare consulting practice at Dean Dorton Allen Ford, an accounting and business advisory services firm with offices in Lexington and Louisville.

Compiled by Dorothea Wingo