Business awards: Week of July 24

Elizabeth Woodward
Elizabeth Woodward

Elizabeth Woodward, Dean Dorton Allen Ford's director of forensic accounting and litigation support, has been named the American Institute of CPA's Certified in Financial Forensics Champion of the Year for her dedication to the CFF Credential and forensic accounting awareness.

Woodward was selected because of her positive impact on this area of the CPA profession. She serves as a member of the CFF Champion Program Taskforce and is active within the Kentucky State Society of CPAs teaching professional ethics throughout the state.

Brookdale Home Health, located at 3051 Rio Dosa Drive, has been named among the 2014 HomeCare Elite, an initiative that recognizes the top-performing home health providers across the United States. This is Brookdale's fifth year to be recognized.

The HomeCare Elite program identifies the top 25 percent of the nation's nearly 10,000 Medicare-certified home health agencies. It bases the determination on the quality of outcomes and the patient experience, implementation of best practices and other related measures. For more information about Brookdale, go to

The Kentucky Society of The American Institute of Architects has presented six special awards of recognition for outstanding service to AIA Kentucky and the profession of architecture in Kentucky. Awards presented and their recipients were: C. Julian Oberwarth Award, recognizes a long-standing commitment to the betterment of the profession and well-being of architects in Kentucky, Clyde Reynolds Carpenter, architect, University of Kentucky College of Design, Lexington; Distinguished Firm Award, recognizes a member firm that has distinguished itself over the past decade, Cox Allen & Associates Architects, Louisville; Distinguished Service Award, honors a member for a specific contribution, dedication or service to AIA Kentucky, Steven S. Goldstein, Luckett & Farley, Louisville; Emerging Professional Award, recognizes an associate AIA member or an AIA architect who has been registered 10 years or less with qualities of leadership and commitment to their AIA component or region, to the design and construction industry, to the community, and/or to other professional organizations, Anna J. Lask, associate AIA, JRA Architects, Louisville; John Russell Groves Citizens Laureate Award, honors those who have supported and encouraged the values of quality architecture in the community through leadership, service and dedication to a better living environment, Kentucky Educational Television, Lexington; Allied Professional Award, pays tribute to those directly involved in the A/E/C industry who have worked with architects and other allied professionals toward the implementation of creative and innovative design solutions, Louisville Chapter, Construction Specifications Institute, Louisville.

Compiled by Dorothea Wingo