Five KCTCS schools are named among 120 best community colleges

Five schools in the Kentucky Community and Technical College System are among the best 120 community colleges in America as selected by the Aspen Institue.

The five are: Hazard Community and Technical College; Madisonville Community College; Somerset Community College; Southeast Kentucky Community and Technical College; and West Kentucky Community and Technical College.

The schools were chosen from almost 1,200 community colleges nationwide based on performance and improvement in such areas as graduation rates, degrees awarded, student retention and equity in student outcomes.

The 120 schools named by the Aspen Institute's College Excellence Program represent the top 10 percent of community colleges across the country.

The Aspen Institute is an international non-profit organization dedicated to promoting leadership.