Fayette, 8 other districts honored for their advanced placement tests

Nine Kentucky public school districts, including Fayette County, have been recognized for their advanced placement classes, the state Education Department said Tuesday.

The third annual Advanced Placement District Honor Roll recognizes 530 nationwide and in Canada for simultaneously increasing access to AP courses while increasing the percentage of students earning scores of 3 or higher on AP exams, according to the education department.

In 2010, five Kentucky school systems were honored; in 2011, four were.

The nine Kentucky districts on the 2012 AP District Honor Roll are Ashland Independent and Boone, Bourbon, Clinton, Fayette, Oldham, Pulaski, Spencer and Washington counties. The Diocese of Covington also was placed on the 2012 honor roll.