Herald-Leader wins Kentucky Press Association's top award

The Lexington Herald-Leader won the Daily Class 3 general excellence award in the Kentucky Press Association awards, presented Friday in Louisville.

The Herald-Leader also won first place in these categories: best spot news coverage, best general news story, best column, best investigative story or series, best on-going/extended coverage story, best business/agribusiness story, best headline, best graphic, best sports page/section, best sports special section, best front page and best newspaper website.

The Kentucky Kernel at the University of Kentucky won first place for general excellence among university newspapers and also won awards for best editorial, best spot news coverage, best sports column, best sports feature story, best enterprise or analytical story, best investigative story or series, best on-going/extended coverage story and best spot news picture, among other awards.

Western Kentucky University's College Heights Herald won awards including best general news story, best feature story, best sports story and best business/agribusiness story. Eastern Kentucky University's Eastern Progress won first place for best headline, best lifestyle page and best editorial page.

Among smaller newspapers, the Advocate-Messenger of Danville won the general excellence award for Daily Class 2; the Madisonville Messenger for Daily Class 1; the Todd County Standard for Weekly Class 1; the Springfield Sun for Weekly Class 2; the Jessamine Journal for Weekly Class 3; and the Kentucky Standard of Bardstown for multi-weekly.

Earl Kinner, publisher of the Licking Valley Courier in West Liberty, received the Lewis E. Owens award for community service for print and online coverage of a tornado that destroyed the newspaper office and his home. The newspaper did not miss publication and created a Facebook page for daily coverage. The award is named after a former Herald-Leader publisher and longtime supporter of the Kentucky Press Association who died of Lou Gehrig's disease in 1998.