Education notes: Oct. 27

Ashlie Arkwright


■ Fayette County Public Schools has swept the state's 2015 Science Teacher of the Year awards, with honors going to Hillary McWhorter of Glendover Elementary, Ashlie Arkwright of SCAPA at Bluegrass and Elizabeth J. Pelphrey of Paul Laurence Dunbar High School. They will be honored at the Kentucky Science Teachers Association's annual conference Nov. 6 at the Hyatt Regency Hotel.

McWhorter, who earned a bachelor's in education from Hanover College and a master's from Georgetown College, taught at Tates Creek Elementary for several years before joining Glendover in 2008. She has trained Glendover staff on the Next Generation Science Standards and currently serves as president of Kentucky's Mu Chapter of Alpha Delta Kappa, an international honorary organization for women educators.

Arkwright earned her bachelor's and master's degrees in middle school education and her Ph.D. in education sciences from UK. She has taught grades 6-8 at the School for the Creative and Performing Arts at Bluegrass for the past 16 years.

Pelphrey graduated from Northern Kentucky University with a bachelor's in biological sciences and from the University of Kentucky with a master's in education. She taught for four years at Bryan Station High School, and this is her second year at Dunbar.

The Lexington School has been named No. 2 among the best private schools in the United States. The Best Schools (, an independent online resource providing school rankings and recommendations, notified the school that it was publishing its list of 50 of the top private elementary schools in the country with the following criteria:

■ They must exceed nearby public schools in course selections and success.

■ They must have a reputation for producing students who are well prepared to take the next steps in their education.

■ Though they are organized as businesses, the schools must have a reputation for treating families with fairness and compassion.

■ They actively seek to treat parents as partners in the educational process.

■ They openly and regularly celebrate the students and their accomplishments.

"I'm just glad we're No. 2 rather than No. 1. That way we stay humble but hungry. It's how we got here in the first place. We really do strive to be the best we can be in our partnership with kids and families," said Una MacCarthy, assistant head of school.

The Lafayette soccer teams have received the 2014-15 High School Team Academic Award from the National Soccer Coaches Association of America, which salutes programs that have excelled in the classroom. The boys' team, coached by Chris Grimm, posted a 3.97 GPA last year, while the girls' team, coached by Bryson Perry, recorded a 3.85 GPA.

To qualify for this award, the team must have a minimum grade-point average of 3.25 for the entire academic year. The team GPA is determined by adding every player's GPA, then dividing by the number of players. The association selected 400 teams nationwide, and Lafayette was one of 53 schools receiving honors for both its boys' and girls' teams.


The Equity Council in Fayette County Public Schools, which advocates for all children regardless of their background and circumstances, is accepting nominations for membership. The deadline is Friday.

The Equity Council monitors and advises the school board on issues of fairness, access and barriers that might keep a child from learning or a teacher from teaching. In its membership, the council seeks people from all walks of life who want to help create a collaborative culture among the schools, the district and the community that supports learning for all students.

■ Fayette County Public Schools is offering mental health training to adults and volunteers who want to be first responders to adolescents in crisis through Youth Mental Health First Aid. Parents of students in grades 6-12, community members and district staff are encouraged to sign up for a free session. The training will be 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Wednesday in Conference Room D of the district's central office, 701 East Main Street. Register at