St. Mary students write about spies

Four students at St. Mary School in Paris earned distinction from the Daughters of the American Revolution Essay Contest. The Jemima Johnson chapter received 240 essays on the topic ”I Spy: Espionage During the American Revolution.“ The students are Breanna D'Antonio (seventh grade, second place), Meghan Staple (sixth grade, first place), Blanton Park (sixth grade, third place), and Michael Regard (fifth grade, third place)

BCTC scholarships

Bluegrass Community & Technical College students currently enrolled in a minimum of six credit hours, and in need of financial assistance, are eligible to apply for four new scholarships:

For more information and applications, visit the BCTC scholarship Web site,

High school speech

Three Fayette County schools placed in the top 10 at the Kentucky High School Speech League's Senior High Speech and Debate Tournament. Paul Laurence Dunbar came in fourth, Lafayette High School was seventh, and Henry Clay High finished 10th in the individual event sweepstakes, held March 13-15 at Western Kentucky University in Bowling Green.

State champions included Stephen Hicks of Dunbar in both Storytelling and Poetry Interpretation; Jill Richardson and Chrisena Ricci of Lafayette in Improvisational Duo Acting; and John Cowgill of Henry Clay in Broadcast Announcing. In addition, Henry Clay High finished third in the debate sweepstakes and produced two Lincoln/Douglas debate champions: Elizabeth Fryman in varsity and Helen Sauer in the novice division.

Math hotshots

Fayette County Public School has 12 high school students who have qualified for the 2008 American Invitational Mathematics Exam.

Jeremy Bradford of Henry Clay High and Paul Laurence Dunbar students Amit Chakraborty, Ping Chen, Wei Du, Brian Fei, Sandy Huang, David Parell, Michael Shen, Connie Wu, Mimi Yang, Tian Yang and Oliver Zhang.

Key Club honors

The Bryan Station High School Key Club was awarded several honors at the Kentucky-Tennessee District's recent convention in Chattanooga, Tenn.

Caroline White, a junior, was named Outstanding All-Around Key Clubber in the district as well as in Division 10/11.

Bryan Station also picked up:

■ First place in the division for Community Service;

■ Second place in the division in Major Emphasis Program;

■ Third place Single Service in the Platinum Division, among other honors.

The Key Club Kentucky-Tennessee District includes most of Kentucky and Tennessee and parts of Georgia and Virginia. The district convention was March 14-16.

SCAPA dominates

SCAPA dominated the Kentucky High School Speech League's Junior State Tournament. The School for the Creative and Performing Arts Bluegrass captured its 11th consecutive team Sweepstakes state championship and won the Sustained Excellence Award for cumulative points through the years.

The two-day state tournament, held March 21-22 at Western Kentucky University, began with SCAPA coaches Beth Randolph and Debbi Dean being inducted into the KHSSL Hall of Fame.

SCAPA students won seven of the 11 state individual championships and were runners-up in seven events. State champions included Haley Fish and McKenna Slone in Duo Acting, Leia Wedlund in Extemporaneous Speaking, Ema Horvath and Ross Thomas in Improvisational Duo, Macy Early in both Oratorical Declamation and Public Speaking, Ema Horvath in Solo Acting, and Haley Fish in Storytelling.

State runners-up from SCAPA were Madalyn Collins and Stella Sharpe in Duo Acting, Macy Early in Extemporaneous Speaking, Madalyn Collins in Oratorical Declamation, Jamie Vescio in Poetry Interpretation, Lauren Gardiner in Public Speaking, Ross Thomas in Solo Acting, and Joseph Wrightson in Storytelling.

Governor's Cup

Meadowthorpe Elementary School captured first-place honors in the Governor's Cup regional competition.

The March 20-22 regional finals included Quick Recall and Future Problem Solving team contests and individual assessments in six subject areas. For complete details, go to and click on Governor's Cup results. Fayette County's elementary schools are in Region 20.

Final standings (top 10):

1. Meadowthorpe

2. Cassidy

3. Rosa Parks

4. Dixie Magnet School

5. Ashland

6. Mary Queen of the Holy Rosary

7. Sts. Peter & Paul

8. Athens-Chilesburg

9. Garden Springs

10. Seton Catholic

King recognized

Eastern Kentucky University junior Alyse King, of Clayton, Ohio, was awarded the Southeast Athletic Trainer's Association Undergraduate Memorial Scholarship and the Kentucky Athletic Trainers Society Undergraduate Scholarship. She was also recently selected as Chair of the National Athletic Trainers Student Committee.

Progress honored

The Eastern Progress, the student-produced weekly newspaper at Eastern Kentucky University, was recently named best all-around non-daily newspaper in the Society of Professional Journalists Mark of Excellence contest for Region 5. Editors during the winning semesters were Chad Hutchison, Courtney Daniel, Jenna Mink, Mellissa Mollohan, Marty Finley, Laura Kersey, Brittany Davenport and Lance Melching.

Ben Kleppinger was awarded third place in the general column writing category of the regional competition for his ”Political Tangents“ column.

In addition, six members of the Progress staff received awards from the Kentucky Intercollegiate Press Association: Marty Finley, first place, feature story; Cameron Blair, second place, sports game story; Steve Fohl, second place, sports column; Laura Kersey, second place, original illustration, and third place, sports game story; Amanda Wheeler, second place, feature photograph; Travis Reynolds, third place, commentary.

The Progress also received the second place award for best overall layout.

Senior scholars

Fourteen Fayette County Public Schools seniors are among this year's Presidential Scholars candidates. They include:

Henry Clay High School: Timothy M. Dodson and Aaron C. Moscow.

Tates Creek High School: Laura A. Hench and Katharine M. Sagan.

Paul Laurence Dunbar High School: Elizabeth A. Byers, Papa R. Chakravarthy, Michael P. Cole, Kathleen M. Harrington, David C. Parell, Javid N. Pour-Ghasemi, ­Aubrey K. Vaughan, ­Victor W. Yang and Mehran B. Yusuf.

Lexington Catholic: ­Timothy P. Gilbert

The winners will be ­announced in May.

Boulden to present

George Boulden, faculty member in the School of Music at the University of Kentucky, has been chosen to present a session at the 2008 National Biennial Conference of the National Association for Music ­Education. The title of the session is ”The Care and Feeding of the Second Band: Second Band Doesn't Mean Second Best!“

Farm Bureau award

Haylie Canham, this year's recipient of the Fayette County Farm Bureau Scholarship, is a senior at Lexington Catholic High School. She is a member of the National Honor Society, the Beta Club, president of the 4-H Saddleblankets Club and a Governor's Scholar. She plans to attend UK in the fall to study forestry.

Essay's a winner

Athie Livas, a Henry Clay High School freshman, won first place in the statewide Governor's Diversity Essay Contest, which had more than 400 entries. Paige Barker, a Tates Creek High sophomore, took second place. This year's theme was the importance of schools' teaching about diversity.