Grant for Morehead alumnus

Morehead State University alumnus Robbie Johnson of Morehead has been awarded the National Science Foundation Doctoral Dissertation Improvement Grant to finish his Ph.D. work in biology at the ­University of Louisville.

First in math

Justin Washington of Tates Creek Elementary has solved enough problems to rank as the No. 1 First in Math player in Kentucky, beating out more than 3,000 other fifth-graders statewide.

EKU women honored

The sorority women of Eastern Kentucky University were recognized at the Southeastern Panhellenic Association's annual conference in Atlanta last month for their efforts in helping to develop future leaders in the Panhellenic Community. EKU was the only school to receive recognition in the area of Leadership Development. For additional information, call (859) 622-3855 or (859) 622-6197.


Nine Fayette County Public Schools students have qualified for the SkillsUSA national competition in late June in Kansas City, Mo., where teens will vie in more than 80 technical and leadership areas. Eastside and Southside technical centers sent three dozen students to the state competition in Louisville during the first week of April. These first-place winners advance to the next level:

From Eastside: Kristen Arvin, job skills demonstration open; Julio Alfaro and Devan Farley, community service; Thomas Bryant, power equipment; Nicolas Davenport, auto refinishing; Freddie Hallock, computer programming; Freddie Weckerling and Taylor Ballard, 3D animation and visualization.

From Southside: Mitch McKinley, electronics technology. SkillsUSA is a leadership organization for career and technical students.

Transy leaders

Seven residents of Fayette County currently attending Transylvania University have been named Student Orientation Leaders for the 2008-09 academic year. Omicron Delta Kappa, a national leadership and scholarship honorary society, is the sponsor.

The Fayette residents are freshmen Amelia Baker, Julia Blankenship, Emily Bryant and Sarah Holmes; and juniors Allison Asay, Dayton Harris and Jessica Sullivan.

Fair toppers

A Paul Laurence Dunbar High School student paced the Fayette County winners with a pair of first-place showings in the 2008 Kentucky Science and Engineering Fair. Shuang Xu won top honors in the ”Best of Fair“ life science category as well as first place in medicine and health.

Other Grand Award winners included:

Ann Cooper of Lafayette High School, first place in animal science; Urvi Patwardhan of Winburn Middle School, first in plant sciences; Erika Russ of Lexington Traditional Magnet School, first in microbiology; Aaron Karp of SCAPA Bluegrass, second in microbiology; Valerie Sarge of Winburn, second in medicine and health.

The state science fair was March 29 at Eastern Kentucky University in Richmond. For more details, go to

At Lindsey Wilson

Former men's basketball coach Don Green and former Athletics Director Bill Elder were inducted into the Lindsey Wilson College Athletic Hall of Fame Feb. 16.

Bill Elder served from 1999-2003 as the college's first full-time athletics director. During his tenure, Blue Raider teams won three NAIA national championships and nine Mid-South Conference titles. Elder also led LWC's transition from the Kentucky Intercollegiate Athletic Conference into the Mid-South.

From 1962-70, Green compiled a 133-69 record while LWC's men's basketball coach. Green led the Blue Raiders to four Kentucky Junior College Conference regular-season championships and a pair of KJCC tournament titles.

Partial scholarships

The Horse Farm Worker's Educational Fund is accepting applications for partial college scholarships or technical programs from recent high school graduates. Applicants must be children of a parent or parents who work full-time on a Central Kentucky thoroughbred farm and have done so for three years. Applications are due July 1 and are available by calling (859) 269-1719.

CPA scholarships

Four Eastern Kentucky University Students recently received Kentucky Society Certified Public Accountants Educational Foundation Scholarships: Monica King of Strunk was awarded a $2,500 scholarship; Kara Lane of Portage, Ind., received the Becker Grant for $3,000 in CPA course review materials; Rachel Bushong Tucker of Somerset received a $1,000 scholarship, and Tabitha Wilson of Booneville received a $2,000 scholarship. To qualify for a KyCPA scholarship, applicants must have completed Principles of Accounting, be enrolled in a Kentucky college or university, be at least a sophomore and have an accounting grade point average of at least 3.0.