Lexington Lionesses name Most Valuable Member

Beverly Jacobson has been named the Most Valuable Member of 2008 for the Lexington Lioness Club. A graduate of Bryan Station High School and the University of Kentucky, Jacobson joined the Lioness Club in 1998.

She and her husband, Jim, have two children.

Aid to horse groups

The Grassroots Committee of the Kentucky Equine Education Project awarded $500 to the National Walking Horse Association to help with expenses for a Youth Leadership Conference in Lexington. It also awarded $2,500 to the Bluegrass Farms Chaplaincy.

Bryan Station DAR

The Bryan Station chapter of the Daughters of the American Revolution's new officers were recently instated by Third District Director Jean Ellen Hilton Melton.

The 2008-2009 officers are: Regent Donna Durbin; Vice Regent Georgia Clemons; Chaplain Ann Cope; Recording Secretary Jane Bryant; Assistant Recording Secretary Barbara Hinderberger; Corresponding Secretary Carol Bailey; Treasurer Ann Latta; Assistant Treasurers Marj Bastin, Priscilla Conyers and Margaret Athon; Registrar June Farris; Historian Janice Plain; Librarian Emily Utter; Auditor Pat Potts and Paliamentarian Norma Brumback.

Good Citizen Award

Zachary Davis, the 2008 Bryan Station High School valedictorian, has received the Bryan Station chapter of the Daughters of the American Revolution's Good Citizen Award. Davis will attend the University of Kentucky this fall.

Help for run/walk

PepsiCo and its Smart Spot program, a health and wellness initiative, has awarded the YMCA of Central Kentucky a grant for $2,500 to help with the operational expenses for the YMCA of Central Kentucky's annual Reindeer Ramble 5K run/walk. In its second year last December, the Reindeer Ramble drew 600 participants and raised more than $10,000 for the YMCA's Campaign for Kids.

Related stories from Lexington Herald Leader