Education notes


Taylor Steele of Henry Clay High School brought home second-place honors from the Technology Student Association's national conference in Orlando, Fla. He won a trophy for his work in computer-aided architectural design animation.

Other Fayette County finalists included Lauren Shields of Southern Middle School, fourth in career challenge; Sydney Reeder of Southern Middle, eighth in digital photography; and a team from Paul Laurence Dunbar High School, ninth in film.

■ After taking top honors at the state Academic Governor's cup, Paul Laurence Dunbar High School's academic team earned a national title in Myrtle Beach, S.C., during the National Senior Beta Club Convention, beating Dorman High School of Spartanburg, S.C., during the June quiz bowl finals.

Brian K. Durham, a teacher at Lexington Traditional Magnet School, is a winner of the Edyth May Sliffe Award for Distinguished Junior High School Mathematics Teaching. Durham is one of only 53 teachers from the United States and Canada chosen for this award, sponsored by the Mathematical Association of America. Only five other Kentuckians have ever earned this award.

■ Recent University of Kentucky graduate Brian Archinal is one of 15 musicians from around the globe selected for the Northeastern University Fusion Arts Exchange (NU-FAX), an educational exchange program sponsored by the U.S. Department of State Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs. Archinal will participate in the program through Aug. 14, at the university's Boston campus.

Archinal, a 2008 graduate in percussion performance at the UK School of Music, is one of five Americans chosen to be a part of a multinational group of 15 musicians from India, Brazil, South Africa, Ireland, Mali and the United States for the exchange program.

Archinal, the son of Bruce and Mary Ann Archinal of The Woodlands, Texas, is a 2004 graduate of The Woodlands High School.

Teri Marie Faragher, executive director of the Domestic Violence Prevention Board in Lexington, was recently inducted into the University of Kentucky College of Social Work Hall of Fame along with Kenn Hicks, a domestic violence facilitator in Palmdale, Calif., and graduate of UK.

Wade Stanfield, an associate principal at Henry Clay High School, is one of two educators statewide selected to participate in Kentucky's 2008-2009 minority superintendent intern program, which is designed to help nurture, support and train black school superintendents. Stanfield has been at Henry Clay for one year.

■ Eight colleges of the Kentucky Community and Technical College System have been named in the ”Top 100 Associate Degree Producers“ by Community College Week magazine. The KCTCS colleges include West Kentucky Community and Technical College in Paducah, 17; Bluegrass Community and Technical College, 18; Jefferson Community and Technical College, 22; Maysville Community and Technical College, 32; Somerset Community College, 45; Bowling Green Technical College, 48; Owensboro Community and Technical College, 88; and Ashland Community and Technical College, 93. The rankings are based on data reported by the institutions to the Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System which is collected by the National Center for Education Statistics. Three KCTCS colleges were also included as ”Big Leapers,“ colleges with the largest increase in associate degree production in the last five years. Bluegrass Community and Technical College in Lexington showed a percentage increase of 65.5 percent. Somerset Community College in Somerset increased by 19.4 percent, while Jefferson Community and Technical College in Louisville increased by 18.6 percent.


Jordann Sullivan, a senior studying political science and Middle Eastern studies at the University of Kentucky, has been awarded a National Security Education Program David L. Boren Undergraduate Scholarship. She will will receive a $20,000 award that will cover her expenses as she spends a year studying Arabic at Birzeit University in Palestine's West Bank.

Sullivan is the daughter of David and Geri Sullivan of Nicholasville.

■ The following students received scholarships from the Gatton College of Business and Economics at the University of Kentucky for the 2008-2009 school year:

Blake Morris of Lexington received the Jack and Helen Clinkinbeard Scholarship.

Joseph Otis of Lexington received the William R. and Sue P. Lickert Scholarship

Glen Sanchez of Lexington received the Haywood Scholarship.

Samuel Short of Lexington received the Jack and Helen Clinkinbeard Scholarship.

Curtis Adams of Lexington received the Thomas Eugene Spragens III Scholarship.

Heather LaBarbara, a seventh grade English teacher at West Jessamine Middle School, was awarded the Belfer Scholarship to attend the 2008 Arthur and Rochelle Belfer National Conference for Educators at the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum in Washington, D.C. The conference was held June 22 through 24. Teachers from across the United States met with museum educators to share rationales, strategies and approaches for presenting the complex topic of the Holocaust to students. Seminar sessions emphasized planning and implementing units of study for teaching about the Holocaust in middle and high schools.

■ Toyota Motor Manufacturing Kentucky has awarded four grants to Kentucky United Ways across the Commonwealth totaling nearly $200,000 in support of education programs that focus on early childhood development. The four agencies receiving the grants include United Way of Southeastern Kentucky/Hazard-Perry County Community Ministries, Inc., in Hazard; United Way of Southern Kentucky in Bowling Green; United Way of Pennyrile in Hopkinsville; and United Way of Paducah-McCracken County in Paducah. All donations will provide seed money for new sustainable programs.


■ Dr. Clark Cash of Early Years Orthodontics presented Lafayette High School senior Adrianna Lacey with a laptop computer, the grand prize for an essay contest sponsored annually by the practice. Lacey, one of more than 100 applicants, wrote about her assistance in providing backpacks filled with school supplies to underprivileged children in her community. Visit


■ Sullivan University's National Center for Hospitality Studies will send 22 students and three chef instructors to Beijing to cater at the Olympic Games. The NCHS is the only culinary program in the United States to have been formally invited to cook for the 2008 Olympic athletes and sponsors.