Education notes


Top Fayette County elementary and middle school winners were named recently named by the Young Achievers program for the 2007-08 school year. Each will receive a $50 U.S. Savings Bond from Holifield Photography and a certificate from the Young Achievers program. The students were nominated by their principals, guidance counselors or teachers in the spring of their fourth- or seventh-grade year.

Holifield Photography sponsors Young Achievers in cooperation with the International Leadership Network, a non-profit, charitable, 501(c)(3) organization. The purpose of the program is to honor fifth-graders and eighth-graders who serve as positive role models for their peers, demonstrate exceptional achievement in a variety of areas, exhibit good citizenship in their schools and communities, and maintain satisfactory records of school attendance and scholastic achievement.

National awards are presented each year by the International Leadership Network. All the top school winners will be considered for these awards.

All students were photographed by Holifield in Lexington for a display shown at Fayette Mall and at their schools during the 2007-08 school year. The display panels included biographical information about each student and his or her accomplishments, plus photographs depicting various interests, hobbies and activities.

The following is a list of the top school winners in the Young Achievers program for 2007-08:

Elementary school

■ Savanah Murphy, Arlington

■ Olivia Dixon, Ashland

■ Joshua Fishman, Assembly Christian

■ Lynsey Short, Athens-Chilesburg

■ Abigail Nicole Branham, Blue Grass Baptist School

■ Davaunté Shelby, Booker T. Washington Academy

■ Kaitlin Caudill, Breckinridge

■ Dejah Rawlings, Cardinal Valley

■ Nathan Vranicar, Cassidy

■ Quinn Fisher, Clays Mill

■ Jordan Lovell Vaughn, Deep Springs

■ Kylie Russ, Dixie

■ Sierra Sky Baldwin, Garden Springs

■ Danielle Karen Ward, Glendover

■ Mary-Catherine Curtis, Julia R. Ewan

■ Justice T. Smalley, Johnson

■ Anna McDonald, Julius Marks

■ Conley Darland, Lansdowne

■ Michael Binkauskas, Lexington Christian Academy

■ Halima Williams, Linlee

■ Hannah D'Eramo, Mary Queen of the Holy Rosary

■ Wesley Saylor, Mary Todd

■ Brianna Mayo, Meadowthorpe

■ Hanna Kardos, Millcreek

■ Jessica Taylor Ralston, Northern

■ Madison Dedman, Rosa Parks

■ Jonathan Ortiz, Russell Cave

■ Zachary Schneider, School for the Creative and Performing Arts

■ Chelsea Faught, Seton Catholic School

■ Alexis C. Caudill, Southern

■ J.D. Owens, Squires

■ Haley Lyons, Stonewall

■ Kenya Walker, Tates Creek

■ Lauren Alexandra Otte, Trinity Christian Academy

■ Dustan Taylor Jones, Veterans Park

■ Sabrina Miracle, Yates

Middle school

■ Christiana Dunning, Beaumont

■ Cristin Lesher, Blue Grass Baptist

■ Abigail Archer Newell, Bryan Station

■ Rachel Geil, Christ the King

■ Kayla Nicole Migneron, Crawford

■ Megan White, Edythe J. Hayes

■ Katie Winchester, Jessie Clark

■ Tori Chandley, Leestown

■ Victoria Bastin, Lexington Christian Academy

■ Erika Russ, Lexington Traditional Magnet

■ Austin Edelen, Mary Queen of the Holy Rosary

■ Jonathan Stormer Pezzi, Sayre School

■ Lauren Childs, Southern

■ Andrew Watts, Tates Creek

■ Jessica Geddes, Winburn

■ Rachel Willeroy,Morton


Former President George H.W. Bush will be at Georgetown College on Friday for a ceremony renaming the college's fitness and intramural recreation center as the George H.W. Bush Center for Fitness.

The event culminates the raising of $1.5 million to benefit the scholarship endowment of The First Tee Scholars program at Georgetown College. Donors to the scholarship endowment will attend a private reception with the 41st president, who serves as honorary chairman of The First Tee.

The First Tee is an initiative of the World Golf Foundation, which focuses on giving young people of all backgrounds the opportunity to develop life- enhancing values like honesty, integrity and sportsmanship through golf and character education.