Education briefs (Feb. 18)


■ Two University of Kentucky College of Arts and Sciences faculty members have been named as recipients of National Endowment for the Humanities Fellowships. Daniel Breazeale, professor and acting chair of the Department of Philosophy, and Peter Kalliney, associate professor in the Department of English, were both awarded individual research fellowships for university teachers. Together their grants total $100,400.

Breazeale will utilize the NEH fellowship during the 2009-2010 academic year to work on a project titled "Fichte's Path from Kant to the Wissenschaftslehre. Zurich Writings (1793-1994)."

Kalliney will spend the 2010-2011 academic year engaged in the study of African, British and Caribbean literary figures in the mid-20th century. His project, titled "Cultural Institutions of the Transatlantic World, 1930-1970," is designed to explore global literary connections during that time period.

■ The Institute for Workplace Innovation at the University of Kentucky was recently chosen as a lead organization for the Kentucky When Work Works initiative. Kentucky was selected as one of only three states to launch the initiative at a statewide level; Greater Louisville Inc. was selected to represent the Louisville area. When Work Works is a national community-based initiative that highlights the importance of workplace flexibility as a business strategy.

■ University of Kentucky College of Nursing associate professor Deborah B. Reed is being recognized by the Southern Nursing Research Society for a nursing and academic career devoted to rural farm life in the south. Reed will receive the 2009 John A. Hartford Foundation Geriatric Research Award in February for her 17 years of research with aging farmers.

■ Maura Scott, an assistant professor of marketing in the University of Kentucky's Gatton College of Business and Economics, has been named to the Advisory Committee for Transformative Consumer Research for the Association for Consumer Research.

Scott, who joined the UK faculty last fall, becomes one of only 18 members from leading research institutions around the world who serve on the committee. The TCR group's mission is to encourage and facilitate consumer research that positively influences well-being.

Scott's research on overconsumption of so-called 'diet' snack foods was cited in the December 2008 issue of Women's Health magazine. She gained corporate experience in several large companies, including 3M, Motorola and The Dial Corporation, before deciding to focus on an academic career.

Scott's term on the TCR Advisory Committee runs through 2012.

■ Deirdre Scaggs has been appointed director of archives in the University of Kentucky Libraries Special Collections and Digital Programs. As director, Scaggs is responsible for the administration of an archival program which includes Manuscripts, Audio-Visual Archives, Public Policy Archives, the University Archives and Records Program and the Bert T. Combs Appalachian Collection.

Scaggs previously served UK as university archivist.

Scaggs' specialties include photographic history and visual materials. The author of "Images of America: Women in Lexington," Scaggs is presently working on a pictorial history of women at UK through World War II.

■ Squads from Edythe J. Hayes and Morton middle schools recently performed in the Middle School State Cheer and Dance Classic.

The 10th annual Classic, organized by TeamSpirit of Lexington, was held at Henry Clay High School. The event also was a fund-raiser for God's Pantry, and the students and spectators together collected about 2,000 pounds of non-perishables for the food bank.

There were 32 performances Jan. 24; the following are the results for Fayette County Public Schools:

2½ Minute Cheer/Division IV:

1st place: Edythe J. Hayes

2nd place: Morton

2½ Minute Cheer/Division I:

3rd place: Morton

Jazz Division:

1st place: Morton

Pom Dance Division:

2nd place: Edythe J. Hayes

Funk Dance Division:

2nd place: Edythe J. Hayes

■ About 100 students from Christ the King, Morton, Lexington Traditional Magnet School, Seton Catholic and Edythe J. Hayes middle schools recently competed in the District 57 competition of the Governor's Cup. All the winning students listed in first through fifth place in each subject area advanced to the regional competition at Georgetown Middle School. In Quick Recall just the first and second place teams advance. The list follows:

Mathematics Assessment:

1st place: Jessie Li, Lexington Traditional

2nd place: Hank Russell, Lexington Traditional

3rd place: Hussain Siddiqui, Lexington Tradtitional

4th place: Alec Schindler, Seton Catholic

5th place: Barrett Block, Edythe J. Hayes

Science Assessment:

1st: Joseph Schneider, Morton

2nd: Mike Yang, Lexington Traditional

3rd: Robin Lohe, Edythe J. Hayes

4th: Barrett Block, Edythe J. Hayes

5th: Alex Money, Morton

Language Arts Assessment:

1st: Cullen Smith, Edythe J. Hayes

2nd: Annie Summers, Morton

3rd: Jessie Li, Lexington Traditional

4th: Eric Minion, Christ the King

5th: Mike Yang, Lexington Traditional

Social Studies Assessment:

1st: Eric Xiong, Lexington Traditional

2nd: Zach Atwell, Edythe J. Hayes

3rd: Charlie Flomenhoft, Lexington Traditional

4th: Austin Ryan, Christ the King

5th: Ryan Edwards, Seton


1st: Casey Nash, Christ the King

2nd: Paige Ezell, Seton

3rd: Rachel Dixon, Lexington Traditional

4th: Nick Nash, Christ the King

5th: Mariah Mowbray, Morton

Arts and Humanities Assessment:

1st: Rob Schrader, Lexington Traditional

2nd: Annie Summers, Morton

3rd: Zach Atwell, Edythe J. Hayes

4th: Sara Thesing, Seton

5th: Angela Maske, Lexington Traditional

Future Problem Solving Team

1st: Lexington Traditional

2nd: Morton

Quick Recall Team:

1st: Lexington Traditional

2nd: Edythe J. Hayes

3rd: Seton

4th: Christ the King

Hume Sportsmanship Award Recipient: Lexington Traditional

Final Standings:

1st: Lexington Traditional

2nd: Edythe J. Hayes

3rd: Morton

4th: Christ the King

5th: Seton


■ Registration is now open for students who will start kindergarten in the fall of 2009. For the first time this year, the district will offer evening registration hours to help meet the needs of our families.

Any child who turns 5 on or before Oct. 1 is eligible for full-day kindergarten in Fayette County Public Schools in August. To enroll a child, families should go to the school their neighborhood is assigned to and fill out a registration packet. Families can find their neighborhood's assigned school by calling (859) 381-4315 or (859) 381-4130.

Families that want to enroll their child in a school other than their neighborhood's assigned school must complete an out-of-area request. Those applications will be available when the registration windows open, but decisions about those requests are not made until May. It is still recommended that you register at your neighborhood school to reserve a spot. Call (859) 381-4122 for more information.