Education notes


■ The Lexington School K-3 Chess Team won the Kentucky Quad C Regional Championships/State Qualifying Tournament and traveled to Louisville for the Kentucky State Chess Team Championship Feb. 28 as the top seed of the 16 qualifying K-3 teams.

■ Four eighth-grade students at Christ the King School participated in the Regional Governor's Cup Competition Feb. 14 at Georgetown Middle School. Participants were Eric Minion (Language Arts), Casey Nash (Written Composition), Nick Nash (Written Composition) and Austin Ryan (Social Studies). Casey Nash won first place in Written Composition and will compete at the state competition in Louisville in March.

■ The Sts. Peter & Paul Middle School Future Problem Solvers team finished in first place for the fifth consecutive year at the 2009 Governor's Cup Regionals Feb. 14. Team members Tamsin Meier, Corey Wells, Nathaniel Burke, Caroline Baker and Claire Honican have been undefeated as a team for three years and will move ahead to the state competition March 14-16.

■ Four Eastern Kentucky University technology students recently participated in the Residential Construction Management Competition in Las Vegas as part of the 2009 International Builders' Show, which featured 250 education seminars and more than 1,600 exhibits. Zack Bloomfield of Lexington, Joey Isaacs of McKee, Josh Murtaugh of Whitesburg and Scott Schwenk of London submitted a written proposal for a housing division on campus during the competition. An oral defense was presented at the show.

The International Association of Homebuilders provided scholarships to defray costs, and the Homebuilders Association of Kentucky matched those scholarship monies, so the students were able make the trip at no cost.

In addition to attending the Builders Show, the students also had the opportunity to take a tour of a major construction site, the City Centre project, guided by EKU alumnus Matt Owens, who now works for Clark Construction.

■ Several local students were among 3,000 graduating seniors recently selected as candidates in the United States Department of Education's Presidential Scholars Program. The candidates were selected for exceptional performance on either the College Board SAT or the ACT Assessment. Five hundred semifinalists will be selected in April. The students are:

From Paul Laurence Dunbar High School in Lexington:

Alayna V. Boland, Leslie C. Davis, Jennifer L. Grasch, Pavitra Muralidhar, Kevin M. Overall, Michael R. Shen and Connie Wu.

Gatton Academy of Math and Science:

Daniel P. Coffman.

Philips Academy:

Benjamin T. Elder.


Ittai E. Eres, Brittany P. Fenner and Evan T. Shirley.

Henry Clay:

Margaret F. Lafalce, Rachel E. Looff, Sarah M. Looff, Margaret S. Lutz and Erin E. Wrightson.

From surrounding counties:

Parker S. Collins, a student at East Jessamine High School; Caleb A. Hetrick, Berea; Amit M. Shanker, Frankfort; Wyatt L. Ubellacker, Georgetown; Charles S. Fieseler, Versailles; Adam T. Horn, Versaillles; Lila S. Leatherman, Versailles; and Thomas C. Wilhoit, Versailles.


■ Morehead State University and the Kentucky Highlands Entrepreneur Center announced the hiring of their new Area Innovation Center director, Joe T. Rowe. Rowe previously served as executive director of Morehead Area Habitat for Humanity and as assistant director of the Kentucky Appalachian Commission.

He holds a bachelor's degree from Berea College and a master's degree in public administration from MSU.


■ Morehead State University recently hosted 12 students and a teacher chaperone from Escuela San Francisco de Asis, San Carlos, Costa Rica.

These students visited Southern Elementary School, their sister school in Georgetown.

The visit was sponsored by the MSU College of Education as part of its cultural diversity initiatives.