Education Notes


Robert Kuhn, professor in the department of pharmacy practice and science at the University of Kentucky College of Pharmacy and associate director of pharmacy services at the Kentucky Children's Hospital, has been selected as the 2010 recipient of the Helms Award for Excellence in Pediatric Pharmacy Practice. The award recognizes contributions to Pediatric Pharmacy Advocacy Group and to pediatric pharmacy practice and contributions of importance to education, new knowledge and outreach.

Kuhn's research and clinical practice has centered on pulmonary drug delivery and drug therapy in patients with cystic fibrosis.

Kuhn currently serves as program director of the pediatric pharmacy residency program at UK and has mentored more than 30 specialty residents since joining the faculty.

The Helms Award Lecture will be given by Kuhn on Oct. 11 at the 19th Annual Pharmacy Conference.

Paul Murphy, a UK assistant professor of molecular and cellular biochemistry, has been named the recipient of the prestigious Thomas Maciag Award from the National Institutes of Health's National Center for Research Resources. Murphy received this honor in recognition of his research accomplishments and his ability to mentor young scientists.

Murphy's laboratory investigates the molecular processes underlying the development of Alzheimer's disease.

This is the second consecutive time that the Maciag Award, given every two years, has honored an investigator from UK's Center of Biomedical Research Excellence in the Molecular Basis of Human Disease. Haining Zhu, associate professor of molecular and cellular biochemistry at UK, received the award in 2008.

■ The National Merit Scholarship Corp. has announced nearly 2,000 additional winners of awards financed by colleges and universities, including 11 from Fayette County Public Schools.

From Henry Clay High School: Walter Bell, music, George Washington University; Emily Estus, political science, Kenyon College; Michael Fryar, foreign service/international development, Centre College; Ethan Golding, undecided, Northwestern University; Andrew Riley, music performance, Indiana University Bloomington.

From Paul Laurence Dunbar High School: Josiah Hanna, computer science, UK; Matthew Hensley, law, Vanderbilt University; Onda Kim, medicine/health care, Emory University; Nicole Schladt, journalism/law, UK; Ailin Shen, consulting/management, University of Chicago; Jingkun Wang, biology, Washington University in St. Louis.

Officials at each sponsor college selected their winners from among finalists in the National Merit Scholarship Program who will attend their school this fall. These awards provide $500 to $2,000 annually for up to four years of undergraduate study. This year, 201 colleges and universities are sponsoring about 4,900 merit scholarships.

This final group of winners brings the total of 2010 National Merit Scholars to about 8,400 students, who will receive about $36 million in aid.

UK President Lee T. Todd Jr. has been appointed to the National Academies' Committee on Research Universities. The committee is charged with conducting a study of public and private research universities in the United States and will examine the current financial, organizational and intellectual capacity of research universities relative to such institutions internationally. Additionally, the committee will determine what is needed to maintain excellence in education and ensure America's ability to address major issues facing society in the 21st century.

Todd joins a group of higher education experts on the committee, which is chaired by Chad Holliday, chairman of Bank of America and former CEO and chairman of DuPont.

Todd's term on the Committee on Research Universities continues through Sept. 30, 2011.

Lee Webb of Shelbyville is the recipient of UK's 2010 Joseph T. Burch Young Alumni Award. The award is named for a longtime UK administrator who has spent the better part of his life in service to UK students.

As president of the Shelby County UK Alumni Club, Webb has been instrumental in instituting new programs for the club, including the UK vs. U of L Golf Scramble, which has become an annual event.

Webb earned a bachelor's degree in accounting in 1998 from UK.


Women's specialty retailer Talbots has announced winners of the 2010 Talbots Women's Scholarship Foundation, a program that empowers women to enrich themselves through learning by obtaining an education later in life. Through this program, the company is rewarding $180,000 in college scholarships to deserving women. A total of 11 scholarships are being awarded for the 2010 academic year, including ten $15,000 scholarships and one $30,000 Nancy Talbot Scholarship Award for creativity, conviction and an entrepreneurial spirit (named in memory of the company's founder). Lee Aren Brown of Lexington received one of the $15,000 scholarships. She is a 1995 graduate of Lexington Christian Academy and is attending Sullivan University.

■ Six Transylvania University students have been named Transylvania Scholars. This scholarship is awarded annually to rising junior and senior students who have achieved outstanding academic records and have made significant service contributions to Transylvania. This scholarship covers tuition and the general fee. The recipients are chosen by a panel of faculty members who interview each applicant.

This year's Transylvania Scholars are: rising junior Kristen Ballard, Elizabethtown; rising senior Emily Bryant, Lexington; rising junior Monica Lawson, London; rising junior Lee Richardson, Nicholasville; rising senior Ashley Stafford, Bloomington, Ind.; and rising junior Joseph Underwood, Lexington.


Commonwealth Credit Union and the Fayette County Schools Family Resource and Youth Service Centers are combining resources to see that school children have the supplies they need when the school year begins.

Items, including backpacks, notebooks, folders, crayons, pencils, glue and calculators can be dropped off in the "Yellow Bus Stop" at the Commonwealth Credit Union Lexington branch located at 280 Meijer Way (just off Reynolds Road in front of the Meijer store) through July 31.

Volunteers from the Fayette County Family Resource and Youth Service Centers will also be in front of all Lexington Wal-Mart locations from 10 a.m.-2 p.m. July 31.

The items can also be dropped off at any Commonwealth Credit Union Frankfort location. Volunteers from the Franklin County Family Resource Centers, Frankfort City School Family Resource Centers, Frankfort Optimist Club and Commonwealth Credit Union will be in front of the Frankfort Wal-Mart from 10 a.m.-2 p.m. July 30 to accept donations.

■ Forty-five students and teachers from 14 schools across Central and Eastern Kentucky traveled to San Diego July 10-12 to present at an international education conference. The students and teachers, along with members of the University of Kentucky's cross-college Tracy Farmer Institute for Sustainability and the Environment staff, presented at the ESRI Education Conference, which concerns geospatial technologies, mapping, and other related science and technological issues. While in San Diego, students visited the San Diego Zoo and dined at a beachfront restaurant while teachers attended presentations that will help expand their use of geospatial thinking and technology in their classrooms.

Here is a list of participating schools (with county): Cassidy Elementary, Southern Elementary and Paul Laurence Dunbar High (Fayette); Waco Elementary (Madison); The Deming School (Robertson); Georgetown Middle and Scott County Middle (Scott); Grant County Middle and Grant County High (Grant); Lebanon Middle and St. Charles Middle (Marion); Woodford County Middle and Woodford County High (Woodford); and Belfry High (Pike).