Education notes


■ University of Kentucky Opera Theatre students Manuel Castillo, Holly Flack, Stephanie Granade, Mark Kano and Julie LaDouceur, and alumna Karmesha Peake participated in this summer's Operafestival di Roma, an opera training program in Rome. The four-week program provides students with master classes; coaching; and lessons in diction, voice and conversational Italian. The program concluded with a weeklong series of opera performances by the students.

■ The 2010 University of Kentucky Alumni Association Distinguished Service Awards were presented recently to Brenda Gosney of Alexandria, Kelly Holland of Lexington, Lee Jackson of Lexington, and Dan McCain of Nashville.

Ellen Hahn, professor in the University of Kentucky College of Nursing, is one of 22 nurse researchers recently inducted into the newly created Sigma Theta Tau International Nurse Researcher Hall of Fame. This unique recognition honors nurse researchers who are Honor Society of Nursing, Sigma Theta Tau International members who have achieved long-term, broad national and/or international recognition for their work, and whose research has affected the profession and the people it serves.

Ann Lyttle-Burns, an employee of Fayette County Public Schools, has been selected as the 2009-10 Outstanding School Administrator of the Year for her service on behalf of state agency children in Kentucky. Lyttle-Burns coordinates home and hospital services and other special programs for FCPS students. She was invited to a July 27 awards luncheon during the annual Alternative Strategies for Educating Students at Risk conference at Eastern Kentucky University. In an unrelated honor, Lyttle-Burns has been accepted into the Kentucky Department of Education's Minority Superintendent Internship Program. She will spend the next year shadowing high- performing superintendents around the state, learning what they do and how they make decisions.

■ The United States Achievement Academy has named Kush Rathod an All- American Scholar. Rathod, who attends Lexington Traditional Magnet School, will appear in the All-American Scholar Yearbook. The academy accepts scholars upon the recommendation of teachers, coaches and counselors. Kush is the son of Hemant and Rekha Rathod of Lexington.

Colleen Swartz, chief nurse executive at University of Kentucky HealthCare, graduated from the Johnson & Johnson/Wharton Fellows Program in Management for Nurse Executives, a three-week management education program at The Wharton School of the University of Pennsylvania. Swartz was one of 38 senior nurse executives selected to participate. This year's participants were from the United States, Australia and Canada.

■ Battery industry veteran Ralph Brodd has been selected to lead the Kentucky-Argonne Battery Manufacturing Research and Development Center. The center, at the University of Kentucky Center for Applied Energy Research, is a partnership of the Argonne National Laboratory, the state, the University of Kentucky and the University of Louisville.

The center will help develop and deploy advanced-battery technologies for vehicles and other applications.


■ University of Kentucky history professor Jane E. Calvert, director and editor of the John Dickinson Writings Project, has been awarded a $200,000 Scholarly Editions Grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities to bring greater attention to Dickinson's work.

A prominent politician, lawyer and constitutional scholar, Dickinson was a member of every Founding Era congress and convention, served as a colonel and private in the Revolutionary War, and was president of Pennsylvania and Delaware.

With the help of UK languages and linguistics professor Mark Richard Lauersdorf, Calvert plans to collect, edit, and publish everything the statesman wrote for public consumption.

After conclusion of the NEH project, Calvert plans to write a biography of Dickinson and then collect and edit his personal letters.

■ Regional Depository Librarian Sandee McAninch of the Federal Depository Unit at University of Kentucky Libraries was named the 2010 recipient of the James Bennett Childs Award, which recognizes an individual who has made a lifetime of significant contribution to the field of documents librarianship. McAninch was recognized with the award at the annual American Library Association conference in Washington, D.C., in June.

Dr. Marcus Randall, a radiation oncologist at the University of Kentucky's Markey Cancer Center, has been named a 2010 Fellow of the American Society for Radiation Oncology. Randall, the Markey Cancer Foundation Endowed Chair in Radiation Medicine, is one of only 11 members of the society to receive the prestigious honor this year. Randall will receive his fellow designation at a ceremony during the society's 52nd annual meeting Oct. 31 to Nov. 4 in San Diego.