Education notes: Dec. 8


Russell Carpenter, director of Eastern Kentucky University's Noel Studio for Academic Creativity, has won the Von Till Outstanding Newcomer Award, presented by the National Association of Communication Centers.

The award is based on innovation, scholarship and intellectual work, mentoring and effectiveness. Carpenter joined EKU in 2009; the Noel Studio opened this fall.

"Eastern Kentucky University is poised to make significant contributions to the practical and scholarly literature on combining writing and communication center services under his leadership," said Carrie Cooper, dean of libraries at EKU.

The Noel Studio is designed to enhance students' writing, speaking and research skills, and inspire individual and collaborative learning. It is named for Ron and Sherrie Lou Noel of Union, whose gift of more than $1 million helped make the $2.8 million center possible.

■ Students across Lexington collected 7,823 pounds of aluminum in the annual "Cans for Cash" City Recycling Challenge. Twenty-seven schools took on the challenge this fall, including 21 from Fayette County Public Schools. Those collecting the most cans per capita (total weight of aluminum divided by the number of students) receive cash prizes of $1,000 for first place, $800 for second, and $600 for third.

Category I (fewer than 300 students): Montessori Middle, first place; Family Care Center, second place; Lexington Day Treatment Center, third place.

Category II (300 to 599 students): Russell Cave Elementary, first place; Meadowthorpe Elementary, second place; Ashland Elementary, third place.

Category III (600 or more students): Rosa Parks Elementary, first place; Bryan Station Middle School, second place; Paul Laurence Dunbar High, third place.

Patricia B. Howard, professor and associate dean of the master of science in nursing and doctor of nursing practice programs at the University of Kentucky College of Nursing, has been named a 2010 Fellow in the American Academy of Nursing. Howard was the only inductee from Kentucky this year.

Howard received an undergraduate degree in nursing from the University of Louisville and a master's degree in nursing from UK. In 1992, she completed a doctorate in nursing at UK. Howard is a member of the university's graduate school and teaches in the Ph.D., D.N.P. and M.S.N. programs.

■ Two University of Kentucky College of Pharmacy faculty members were honored at the opening session of the 2010 International Pharmaceutical Federation Pharmaceutical Sciences World Congress in association with the American Association of Pharmaceutical Scientists.

Peter A. Crooks, professor in drug design and discovery, received the AAPS Research Achievement Award in Drug Design and Discovery. Crooks is known internationally for his research on the discovery of new drug entities and their development as clinical candidates. He is particularly recognized for his work on the discovery of new therapies to treat tobacco dependence, alcohol dependence and psychostimulant abuse.

Patrick P. DeLuca, professor in the department of pharmaceutical sciences received the association's Community Service Award. DeLuca is past president of the association and an association fellow. He has been instrumental in the founding and running of Faith Pharmacy in Lexington. The pharmacy helps people who don't have prescription drug coverage.

Chang-Guo Zhan, professor of pharmaceutical sciences in the UK College of Pharmacy, has been named an AAPS fellow. A member is named a fellow after making sustained remarkable scholarly and research contributions to the pharmaceutical sciences with original articles, scientific presentations at the association's annual meetings, and/or patents.

Zhan is an internationally recognized scientist in modern drug design and discovery.

■ On Nov. 19, the University of Kentucky recognized development professionals on campus at the annual Terry B. Mobley awards ceremony.

Recipients were nominated by faculty and staff for outstanding effort in furthering UK's development.

This year's award recipients were: Richard W. Furst, dean emeritus, Gatton College of Business & Economics; Aimeé Baston, annual giving stewardship, Kentucky Children's Hospital; Daniel Pierre, tech support specialist for the Office of Development; and Veronica Whittaker, staff support, College of Agricultural Advancement Office.

■ Eight University of Kentucky School of Music students won their divisions at the 2010 Kentucky District of the National Association of Teachers of Singing competition, Oct. 22 and 23 at Berea College. In addition to the winning vocalists, eight other UK students placed second or third in the 18 divisions of the vocal competition.

The eight winning UK students are: Baritone Jacob Waid, Paducah, freshman men division; baritone Charles Calhoun, Raceland, sophomore men division; coloratura soprano Monica Dewey, Atlanta, junior women division; bass-baritone Matt Turner, Jackson, junior men division; baritone Reginald Smith Jr., Atlanta, senior men division; mezzo-soprano Melissa Snow-Groves, Louisville, advanced intermediate division; soprano Jessica Pearl French, Lexington, advanced women division; and tenor Adam VonAlmen, Lima, Ohio, advanced men division.

Winners of each division received small honoraria to help defray expenses associated with competing.

Sixteen of UK's competitors advanced to the district finals.