Education Notes: May 18

Lexington Traditional Magnet School students and teachers stood in formation to create a Japanese flag as part of  the school's USA for Japan project on May 6.
Lexington Traditional Magnet School students and teachers stood in formation to create a Japanese flag as part of the school's USA for Japan project on May 6. Submitted to the Herald-Leader


Jessica Barnes, a senior at Tates Creek High School, has received a 2011 Fayette County Farm Bureau scholarship for $20,000. Jessica is the daughter of James and Pamela Barnes of Lexington. She is a member of Beta Club, National Honors Society and International Baccalaureate. Her activities include Fayette County 4-H Livestock Club, the 4-H Country Ham Project and Operation Christmas Child. She was also a member of the Tates Creek High School cheerleading team for three years. She is on track to graduate in June and plans to attend the University of Kentucky and study animal science and pre-veterinary studies in the College of Agriculture.

Linda J. Van Eldik, director of the UK Sanders-Brown Center on Aging, is among 17 leading researchers newly elected to the Dana Alliance for Brain Initiatives.

Supported entirely by the Dana Foundation, the Dana Alliance is a non-profit organization of more than 300 leading neuroscientists committed to advancing public awareness about the progress and promise of brain research.

Van Eldik specializes in research related to the causes, effects and treatment of Alzheimer's disease.

Debra K. Moser, professor and Linda C. Gill Chair in Nursing in the UK College of Nursing, is one of 15 nurse researchers who will be inducted into the Sigma Theta Tau International Nurse Researcher Hall of Fame in July.

Moser is noted for her work with the Research and Interventions for Cardiovascular Health heart program.

Sharon Brennan, associate professor in the UK College of Education Department of Curriculum and Instruction and director of the Office of Field Experiences and School Collaboration, was honored with the 2011 Kentucky Association of Colleges for Teacher Education Award for Distinguished Service in Teacher Education.

■ UK announced its largest class of Fulbright Scholars to date, with seven students and two 2010 alumnae selected as recipients of Fulbright U.S. Student Program for the 2011-12 academic year.

The Fulbright Program is the flagship international educational exchange program sponsored by the U.S. government and is designed to increase mutual understanding between the people of the United States and the people of other countries.

The UK students and alumnae awarded Fulbright scholarships for graduate study, research or teaching assistantships are: AdrianaLia Arbeláez-Moutz, a doctoral candidate in voice performance who will do research in Spain; Yuen "Amie" Chan, a biology and economics senior who will study in Germany; Megan Collins, a 2010 international studies graduate who will teach in Germany; Jordan Covvey, a 2010 pharmacy graduate who will study and do research in Scotland; Matthew Feinberg, a doctoral candidate in Hispanic studies who will do research in Spain; Sarah Kachovec, an international studies and Spanish senior who will teach in Spain; and Jon Otto, a doctoral candidate in geography who will do research in Mexico.

Gurney Norman, Kentucky poet laureate in 2009-10 and director of UK's Creative Writing Program, was awarded an honorary Doctor of Humane Letters degree from Berea College on May 8. The acclaimed Appalachian author addressed 240 candidates for graduation during Berea's 139th commencement.

■ The staff and students at Lexington Traditional Magnet School filmed a project called USA for Japan on May 6 to let the survivors of the earthquake know they were concerned about them. The choir, band, orchestra, cheerleaders and dance team were featured in the program. At one point the students and staff, dressed in white and red, created the Japanese flag the size of the school's gym floor. See the video on YouTube at

■ Author and former UK history professor George C. Herring received an honorary Doctor of Laws degree at Roanoke College in Salem, Va., during his alma mater's commencement ceremony May 7. The award-winning author was also the keynote graduation speaker.

■ The Lexington Clinic Foundation has awarded its Fergus Hanson Memorial Scholarship to 11 Central and Eastern Kentucky students who plan to pursue a career in allied health sciences. The 2011 recipients are Alyssa Estes, Beattyville; Casey Hill, Lexington; Kristoffer Howard, Lexington; Debora Lasure, Stanford; Michelle Martin, Wilmore; Sarah Robinson, Lexington; Amy Salyer, Lexington; Rebecca Smith, Winchester; Emily Tackett, Jackson; Leah Thomas, London; and Kellen Turner, London.


The Lexington School will present these training events in June: The Ooey Gooey Lady, Lisa Murphy, will visit from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. June 9. Attendees will receive 7.5 state accredited training hours. Storytelling with Mary Jo Huff will be 8 am.-4 p.m. June 10. The seminars are $120 each and include lunch. To register or for information, contact Jaci Sloan at