Leaders of year: Lafayette's Caton, Franklin Co.'s Ferrell

Taylor Fisher
Taylor Fisher

Lafayette High School junior Sarah Caton and Franklin County High School junior Alexa Ferrell were named Youth Salute Youth Leaders of the Year on May 15 at Eastern Kentucky University.

Sarah, daughter of Regina Grindle and Chris Caton, was named Lexington's Youth Leader of the Year. Alexa, daughter of Christina and Scott Ferrell, was named Central Kentucky Youth Leader of the Year.

They each received a $500 scholarship plus an expenses-paid trip, sponsored by Holifield Photography, to the National Council on Youth Leadership conference, Oct. 15-18 at Washington University in St. Louis.

Four other students won all-expense-paid trips to the conference. They will join other Youth Salute leaders from across the country at the event and will compete for national awards. They are: Nate White, Bryan Station; John Mulvaney, Woodford County; Lance Terrell, home school; and Pamela Schwartz, Frankfort.

Individual school winners, from among 800 outstanding high school juniors, from 44 Central Kentucky high schools were recognized at the Youth Salute awards ceremony. This is the 31st year for the awards.

The top school winners are: Anderson County, Emily Drury; Bath County, Makayla Arnett; Berea Community, Benjamin Miller; Blue Grass Baptist, Joshua Watts; Bourbon County, Rachel Quinn; Boyle County, Adam Matheny; Bryan Station, Nate White; Burgin Independent, Sierra McGinnis; Christian Academy of Lawrenceburg, Zachary Gray; East Jessamine, David Prewitt; Estill County, Cassidy Flynn; Frankfort, Pamela Schwartz; Franklin County, Alexa Ferrell; Garrard County, Paige Lamb; George Rogers Clark, Lauren Woosley; Harrison County, Allison Cordray; Henry Clay, Rachel Geil; home school, Lance Terrell; Kentucky School for the Deaf, Michael Miller; Lafayette, Sarah Caton; Lexington Catholic, Katherine Thesing; Lexington Christian Academy, Victoria Bastin; Lincoln County, Taylor Fisher; Madison Central, Joshua Barrett; Madison Southern, Ethan Lake; Menifee County, Kristyn Densmore; Mercer County, Julia Higginbotham; Model Lab, Caroline Engle; Montgomery County, MacKenzie Wyatt; Nicholas County, Destiney Johnson; Owen County, Emily Clark; Paul Laurence Dunbar, Sarah Cleaver; Rockcastle County, Taylor Greene; Scott County, Ashton Ogle; Tates Creek, Corrie van Gessel; Trinity Christian Academy, Joshua Miller; West Jessamine, Casey Greer; Western Hills, Joy Birike; Winchester Christian Academy, Ashley Clem; and Woodford County, John Mulvaney.

Eastern Kentucky University awarded $20,000 in scholarships. Five students received $4,000 each. The winners were Holly Elizabeth Wells, Bath County; Kayla Lasure, Lincoln County; Chelsea Brown, Scott County; Megan Wilson, Montgomery County; and Danielle Chasteen, Madison Central;

Georgetown College also awarded $20,000 in scholarships. Five students received $4,000 each. The winners were Sarah Caton, Lafayette; Sarah Sams, George Rogers Clark; Kayla Harned, Madison Southern; Benjamin Miller, Berea Community; and Amber Tyra, Montgomery County.

Midway College also awarded $20,000 in scholarships. Five students received $4,000 each. The winners were Allison Cordray, Harrison County; Claire Donaldson, Bath County; Emily Goodwin, Franklin County; Deborah McNees, Harrison County; and Taylor Davidson, George Rogers Clark.

A $500 scholarship provided by College Finance & Planning: Class 101 was awarded to David Prewitt, East Jessamine.

Four ACT/SAT preparation courses valued at $500 each provided by College Finance & Planning: Class 101 were awarded to Sarah Cleaver, Paul Laurence Dunbar; Casey Greer, West Jessamine; Katherine Thesing, Lexington Catholic; and Shelby Henderson, Paul Laurence Dunbar.

Fifteen leadership awards of $100 each were presented to Emily Drury, Anderson County; Makayla Arnett, Bath County; Joshua Watts, Bluegrass Baptist; Rachel Quinn, Bourbon County; Adam Matheny, Boyle County; Cassidy Flynn, Estill County; Cameron Whittaker, Frankfort; Allison Cordray, Harrison County; Rachel Geil, Henry Clay; Victoria Bastin, Lexington Christian Academy; Ethan Lake, Madison Southern; Kristyn Densmore, Menifee County; Julia Higginbotham, Mercer County; MacKenzie Wyatt, Montgomery County; and Corrie van Gessel, Tates Creek. The leadership awards were provided by Central Bank & Trust Company and Holifield Photography.

The Youth Salute is conducted annually through the National Council on Youth Leadership in cooperation with the Central Kentucky Council on Youth Leadership.

Students must be nominated by high school counselors, teachers, principals and community leaders to participate in Youth Salute, said Jim Holifield, chairman of the leadership council.

Nominees must be high school juniors at the time they are nominated, have at least a 3.0 grade-point average and have been chosen by their peers or an adult leader for at least two leadership roles in school, religious or community sponsored organizations during the past two years.