Madison County: New Opportunity School for Women gives scholarships, awards at reunion

On Nov. 5, the New Opportunity School for Women held its annual graduate reunion and awards luncheon at First Christian Church in Berea. More than 125 guests, including graduates, their families and community supporters celebrate graduates' accomplishments. Highlights of the day included a workshop on self-esteem followed by a luncheon and door prizes.

Awards were presented to the following graduates: Deonna Brock, Women Leading Kentucky Education Scholarship; Amy Kelley, Woman of Achievement Award; Terri Morris, Evan Frankel Education Scholarship; Carol Bailey, American Association of University Women Education Scholarship; Debbie Bellow, Janie Polk Education Scholarship; Rhonda Eberle, Joy Award; and Trish Watson, John B. Stephenson Loyalty Award.

Three awards were given to non-graduates for their service to the New Opportunity Schools: Debra Hille, school instructor and Berea artist, Woman of Achievement Award; Janet Tronc, for service and dedication to the program; and Doug Pratt, volunteer service to the school's office and program.

The New Opportunity School was founded in 1987 by Jane Stephenson. It helps women from Kentucky and the middle Appalachian region by providing tools to improve personal, financial and educational circumstances through classroom experiences, internships, career exploration and cultural enrichment.

The next three-week residential session is Feb. 5 to 25.

Send requests for applications and additional information may be addressed to New Opportunity School for Women, 204 Chestnut Street, Berea, Ky. 40403 or to, or call (859) 985-7200. Go to, for additional information about the no-cost program and to download an application.