Education Notes for week of November 5

Helen Shaw
Helen Shaw


Heidi Anderson, a biology teacher at Paul Laurence Dunbar High School, has been selected as the 2012 Outstanding Secondary School Science Teacher by the Kentucky Academy of Science. She received the award during a KAS statewide conference Oct. 20 at Eastern Kentucky University.

Anderson is in her 13th year teaching at Dunbar and 11th in the school's Math, Science & Technology Center.

■ Christ the King School art teacher Mary Joe Quinn has been named the 2012 Kentucky Art Educator Association teacher of the year for private and independent schools. This award is given to KYAEA members who have shown extraordinary achievement.

■ Two former educators are the newest inductees into the University of Kentucky School of Human Environmental Sciences Hall of Fame.

Joyce Crupper Clifford and Helen Anderson Shaw were honored for their years of dedication to the betterment of their professions, local communities and the school during a recent recognition ceremony held at the Hilary J. Boone Center on UK's campus.

Clifford, an Owen County native, received her bachelor's in vocational home economics education from UK in 1959.

Shaw, a Lexington native, received her bachelor's degree in dietetics from UK in 1958.

■ In recognition of his "sustained and distinguished scholarship, teaching, and/or service in the field of critical criminology," Victor Kappeler, a foundation professor of justice studies and associate dean in EKU's College of Justice & Safety, will receive the Lifetime Achievement Award from the American Society of Criminology's Division on Critical Criminology. The society will bestow its honor on Kappeler at its annual meeting in Chicago on Nov. 17.

He is widely recognized as a scholar in media and the social construction of crime, police deviance and police civil liability, among other related fields.

Kappeler earned three degrees from Eastern, in addition to a doctoral degree from Sam Houston State University.

Lafayette High School's marching band, directed by Chuck Smith, won the 2012 Class 5A state title Oct. 27 with its show "Desert Rose."

Paul Laurence Dunbar High, the two-time defending champion, finished fourth with "Reflections." North Hardin was runner-up, and Madison Central was third in the finals of the Kentucky Music Educators Association's showdown at Western Kentucky University.

As perennial 5A state contenders, Lafayette now has 17 titles and Dunbar seven. Lafayette was runner-up the past two years.

Eighty bands squared off in the semifinals, with the top four scorers in each class moving on to the finals. For more information, visit

■ The Alliance for a Healthier Generation, founded by the American Heart Association and the William J. Clinton Foundation, recently recognized Shannon Johnson Elementary School in Berea and Lexington's Southern Middle School and Tates Creek Middle School as 2012 National Recognition Bronze Award recipients.

To earn the National Recognition Award, the schools improved their nutrition services and physical activity programs to meet or exceed the standards set by the Alliance for a Healthier Generation's Healthy Schools Program. The Healthy Schools Program provides expert advice and resources at no cost to more than 15,000 schools nationwide to help reverse the childhood obesity epidemic. Schools are eligible for Bronze, Silver, or Gold National Recognition Awards based on their level of achievement.

These three schools were among 250 from around the country honored at the Healthy Schools Program Forum in Little Rock, Ark. Find out more at

Eastern Kentucky University's Mock Trial Team took first place in the Robert E. Sanders Kentucky Classic Tournament Oct. 26-28. Last year the team placed 15th in the nation and was nationally ranked.

In the 22-team field, Eastern finished ahead of teams from Miami University, UCLA, Vanderbilt University, Loyola University, among others. The first-place EKU team conducted trials against UCLA, Miami, Sullivan and Furman.

Barbara McDermott, a political science major from Richmond who competed on EKU's second team, received the Outstanding Witness Award.

Members of the first-place team were: Jade Petty, psychology major from Richmond; Caleb Taylor, political science major from Union; Damir Siahkoohi, homeland security major from Irvine; Anthony Sean Potter, political science and anthropology major from Whitesburg; Matthew Boggs, chemistry major from Whitesburg; Joshua Lang, political science major from Fort Thomas; and Keifer Kentrup, philosophy major from Taylor Mill. Siahkoohi, Potter, Boggs, Lang and Kentrup are also members of EKU's Honors Program.

The team is coached by Joshua Leckrone, Lynnette Noblitt, Tom Parker and Sara Zeigler.


Eastern Kentucky University's Department of Exercise and Sport Science and the Kentucky Adapted Physical Education Program will hold an open house from 5:30-7 p.m. Friday at the Telford YMCA in Richmond.

In the KAPE program, EKU students work with 30 children ages 4-18 who have various disabilities. While paired with an EKU student, clinic participants receive individualized physical activity programs that emphasize gross motor skills, physical fitness and basic aquatic instructions.

To learn more about the EKU-KAPE open house or about services EKU provides to children with disabilities and their families, contact Louisa Summers at or at (859) 622-1891.

■ A record number of students are enrolled this fall at Lindsey Wilson College, a 109-year-old liberal arts college, in Columbia. LWC has an enrollment of 2,677 students this school year, a 2.9 percent increase over last year. The college's 2012-13 enrollment includes 2,217 undergraduate students and 460 graduate students.

A record number of students are also living in LWC's residence halls this year. Almost 1,100 students are living on campus, besting the school's previous record, set in 2010.