Education notes: June 12


■ The 2013 Anita Madden Bluegrass Boys Scholarship at The Lexington School was given to Moises Hernandez Jr. of Russell Cave Elementary School.

This year's candidate pool included representatives from Arlington, Cardinal Valley, Deep Springs, Glendover, Mary Todd, Russell Cave, Sandersville, Tates Creek, Veteran's Park, and William Wells Brown Elementary schools.

The Anita Madden Bluegrass Boys Scholarship will pay all expenses for one socio-economically disadvantaged (qualifying for free or reduced lunch) boy entering sixth grade. The Bluegrass Boys Scholarship covers all materials, fees, after school care, and school trips for the student for all three years of middle school. The scholarship is valued at $25,000 per year.

Ross Boggess, a junior at Henry Clay High School, has been selected to serve as a page in the United States Senate. Boggess is one of 30 pages selected for the first summer session. He will be sponsored by Sen.Mitch McConnell.

■ Two college students from Kentucky have been selected to participate in an inaugural leadership program for GEAR UP alumni in Washington, D.C. in June. GEAR UP, or Gaining Early Awareness and Readiness for Undergraduate Programs, is a federally funded college access and readiness program.

Brooke Stewart of Covington and Benjamin Whitlock of Greensburg are among the 30 former GEAR UP students selected from across the nation.

Stewart is a bio-chemistry major at the University of Kentucky and a graduate of Holmes High School, while Whitlock is a McConnell Scholar pursuing a history and political science degree at the University of Louisville. He is a graduate of Green County High School.

■ The Jessie Clark boys' track-and-field team won the 2013 championship at the Kentucky Track and Cross Country Coaches' Association middle school state meet May 25 with Thomas Hill, Doug Burris and Keegan Gassett leading the way. Crawford and Bryan Station Middle tied for fifth place in the meet, hosted by the University of Louisville.

Hill was the overall winner in the 1,600-meter run and runner-up in the 800 meters. Burris was the 3,200-meters champion, and Gassett was second in the 100-meter and 200-meter dashes. Hill and Burris teamed with Bobby Payne and Trevor Paskovics to win the 4-by-800 relay.

A few days earlier, Jessie Clark secured the Fayette County Middle School Track and Field Championship, and Bryan Station was the runner-up. MVP Hill set three meet records with a time of 10:33.22 in the 3,200 meters, 4:46.22 in the 1,600 meters and 2:08.38 in the 800 meters.

In the girls' competition, Beaumont won the Fayette County title as Grace Slater took the long jump, Grace Kelly the high jump and Tahlya Mock the shot put. MVP Maddie Covey of runner-up Edythe J. Hayes set a meet record in the 3,200-meter run with a time of 12:16.35; she also won the 800 and 1,600 meters and anchored the winning 4-by-800 team.

Lafayette High School hosted the county middle school championships.

McBrayer, McGinnis, Leslie & Kirkland is celebrating its 50th year in business by presenting the Professor Dugi Jurisprudence Scholarship Award to Lindsey Taylor Anderson, a member of the 2013 graduating class of Transylvania University and a native of Shelbyville. The award will provide one student with in-state tuition for the first year at any of Kentucky's three accredited law schools. This fall, Lindsey will attend the University of Kentucky College of Law.

Dyche Mullins, a graduate of Rockcastle County High School and UK, and who performed post graduate work at Johns Hopkins and the Salk Institute, is one of 27 biomedical researchers that has been awarded a Howard Hughes Medical Investigators award from the Howard Hughes Medical Institute. He will receive the flexible support necessary to move his lab's research in new directions. The initiative represents an investment in basic biomedical research of approximately $150 million over the next five years.

The scientists represent 19 institutions from across the United States. The new group of HHMI investigators — which includes 10 current HHMI Early Career Scientists — were selected from a group of 1,155 applicants.

■ For the second consecutive year, an Eastern Kentucky University senior has been named a Tillman Military Scholar. Christopher Stanfield, a political science major from Winchester and a U.S. Army veteran, is one of 60 Tillman Military Scholars nationwide. Selected from among 1,800 applicants, he will use the $6,000 scholarship to pursue a master's of public administration degree.

Tractor Supply Co. and the National FFA Foundation have awarded 284 scholarships to FFA members as part of the Growing Scholars program. Seventeen of the scholarships were awarded to the following Kentucky residents: Amanda Bennett, Franklin; Caleb Brown, Princeton; Kasin Burnett, Grayson; Alyce Combs, Lost Creek; Caitlin Conley, Catlettsburg; Susan Darnell, Cynthiana; Mckell Davis, West Paducah; John Faulkner, Danville; Katie Fletcher, Burkesville; Victoria Hammons, Georgetown; Kelsey Hathaway, Bowling Green; Anna Hawkins, Frankfort; Shelby Highbaugh, Sonora; Victoria Mohon, Greenville; Caroline Milam, Olmstead; Michael Sandusky, Lebanon; Sidney Shackelford, Elkton.

■ The American Institute of Certified Public Accountants has announced that Jan Colbert, professor of accounting at Eastern Kentucky University, will receive its national Distinguished Achievement in Accounting Education Award in August.

Colbert, is a CPA, certified internal auditor and certified forensic accountant. She joined EKU in 2006 after teaching 10 years at Auburn University and 13 years at Western Kentucky University.


Kindergarten students entering Fayette County Public Schools this August can participate in a variety of fun, free and educational activities this summer through the third annual Countdown to Kindergarten.

Families can find details in each kindergarten registration packet, including a voucher for a free T-shirt, which can be redeemed at any Lexington Public Library branch. This shirt will serve as the student's entry pass to any Countdown to Kindergarten activity.

For a summer schedule of events visit