Education Notes: July 10



Paul Laurence Dunbar High School won the quiz bowl at the National Beta Club's annual senior convention for a fourth consecutive year. The 2013 team included Athena Kern, John Luan, Valerie Sarge and Will Walters.

Several students also secured honors in individual contests. Athena took first place in English, Joseph Schneider in science, and Vania Ma in Spanish. Valerie placed third in math, and Alice Liu was third in pencil drawing.

The national convention was June 19 to 22 in Mobile, Ala.

Robin Barker, band director at the School for the Creative and Performing Arts, has been elected to membership at the American School Band Directors Association regional conferences.

The 1,000-member association selects band directors on the basis of their teaching experience, the success of their music programs and member recommendations.

Lauren Cracraft, a 2010 graduate of Lafayette High School and an elementary education major at the University of Kentucky, and Holly M. Goodpaster, a 2012 graduate of Bryan Station High School majoring in psychology at the University of Louisville, have received Kentucky Growers Association/Kentucky Association of Convenience Stores scholarships sponsored by The Kroger Foundation.

Students at Eastside Technical Center have earned kudos from the Ohio Valley Chapter of the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences, which covers four states.

Lainey Geddes will receive a Student Production Award in the news category for her reporting in "Smoke-Free Campus, or Is It?" A music video titled "Started From the Bottom" secured an honorable mention for classmates Rob Houston, producer/videographer/ editor; Erin Leitch, videographer/ editor; and LeQuan Johnson, videographer/singer.

The Ohio Valley Chapter received a record 68 entries this year. The 2013 awards will be presented July 20 during the chapter's annual Emmy Awards Gala at the Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza.

The Kentucky Green & Healthy Schools program and Kentucky National Energy Education Development Project hosted the sixth annual Youth Summit and Awards Luncheon on June 6 in Frankfort to recognize students for promoting school health and environmental sustainability.

Five Fayette County schools received awards, the most from any county. Top honors went to Lafayette High School, which earned a School in Progress plaque. Candidate School certificates went to Locust Trace AgriScience Farm, and Leestown, Morton and Southern middle schools.


Joseph L. Fink III, professor of pharmacy law and policy and the Kentucky Pharmacists Association Professor of Leadership in the UK College of Pharmacy, has been elected to a three-year term as a public member of the Liaison Committee on Medical Education, the agency that accredits M.D. degree programs in the United States and Canada.

A faculty member at UK since 1981, Fink is also a professor in the College of Public Health, professor in the Martin School of Public Policy and Administration, and professor of clinical leadership and management in the UK College of Health Sciences.

Hilary Lakes has been named head coach for Campbellsville University's men's and women's cross country, indoor track and field, and outdoor track and field programs.

Lakes, who has served as men's and women's cross country head coach since 2011, was named interim head coach of the men's and women's track and field program in January. During her interim season, she was named Mid-South Conference Coach of the Year for women's outdoor track and field after helping lead the program to its first-ever MSC team championship, its fourth outdoor meet win of the season.