Education Notes: Bolt named a 2013 International Young Achiever of the Year

Lauren Bolt
Lauren Bolt


The 2012-2013 Sayre School Science Club has qualified as a finalist in the 2013 International Space Settlement Design Competition. In the contest, high school teams from around the world assume the roles of aerospace engineers to design a city in space that would house more than 10,000 people. Teams must demonstrate creativity, technical competence, management skills, space environment knowledge, teamwork, and presentation techniques to create a proposal for a space settlement design that addresses the challenges of sustaining long-term life in space (

The Sayre Science Team includes seniors from the class of 2013, Mykalin Jones (team president), Taylor Cohron, Colleen Craven, and Alex Villaran, along with underclassmen Nicholas Waltman and Hina Iqbal. The founder of the International Space Settlement Design Competition, Anita Gale, called Mykalin Jones to offer her congratulations for the team's impressive proposal. A past participant in the competition, Mykalin Jones was the first Kentuckian ever to bring home a first place medal.

On Aug. 2 the Sayre team will participate in a live competition at NASA Johnson Space Center in Houston.

Lauren Bolt, a rising freshman at Tates Creek High School, has been named a 2013 International Young Achiever of the Year. She and two other winners — one from Illinois and one from Canada — each received a certificate and a check for $500 from the International Leadership Network. They were among 28 students honored as 2013 Young Achievers, along with Dylan Benton of Booker T. Washington Academy, Robrina Rodger of Arlington Elementary and Mahin Zaman of Morton Middle School.

Nominated by a teacher at Tates Creek Middle School, Lauren was subsequently selected as a schoolwide winner this spring. A local committee then submitted her name for ILN consideration. Lauren, Dylan, Robrina and Mahin were among the fifth- and eighth-grade honorees for 2012-2013 in Fayette County Public Schools.

Lauren will continue in the International Baccalaureate Programme as well as the choir this fall at Tates Creek High School.

Cierra Howard was named the recipient of the Herb McDowell Award from Jessie Clark Middle School in May. The award recognizes the student athlete of the year. Cierra will be a freshman at Lafayette High School this fall where she will be a cheerleader.

Ryan Gaynor, a 2013 graduate of North Laurel High School in London, was selected to represent Kentucky as a delegate to the 2013 National Youth Science Camp from June 26 to July 20 in Charleston, West Va. Gaynor joined 121 other top science students from across the nation and around the world for this honors science leadership program.

Each year, delegates attend lectures and directed studies led by top scientists and professors from all over the country. This year's lecture topics included: cancer research, genomic medicine, radio astronomy, and energy sustainability.


Chuck Fields, a professor in the School of Justice Studies at Eastern Kentucky University, will be awarded the title of Honorary Senator by the University of Maribor in Slovenia for his contributions to the development of research at the institution.

Fields, who joined the EKU faculty in 1997, is the editor of The Dialogue and the American Journal of Criminal Justice. Fields has been invited to attend an official ceremony at the Slovenia institution in September.