Education Notes for Sept. 25


■ The following area students have been named semifinalists in the 2014 National Merit Scholarship Program.

They are among some 16,000 academically talented high school seniors who will compete for about $35 million in awards next spring.

Frankfort: Timothy Cornett, home school; Georgetown: Wesley Holt, Scott County High School; Lexington: Sara Arthur-Paratley and Jacob Margolies, Bryan Station High School; Annie Bradford, Leo de Castro, Carson Dooley, Benjamin Evers, Adam Kiser, Connor Langley, Elizabeth Minor, Connor Onan, Henry Russell, Abigail Ryan, Michael Sommer, Ben Swanson, Amaris Wade and Clayton Whiteheart, Henry Clay High School; Matthew Russell, home school; Alyson Ackerman, Marie Armbruster and Amelia Collins, Lafayette High School; Sarah Doom, Lexington Catholic High School; Stuart Blood, Christine Brandewie, Chloe Cao, Philip Ewing, Jerry Guo, Haani Husain, Sharif Jamaldin, Athena Kern, Alice Liu, John Luan, Michael Lucas, Nelson Ng, Walker Reeves, Dylan Rowe, Valerie Sarge, Joseph Schneider, Jonathan Stokes, Robin Swoveland, Sydney Toth, Meghan Waters, Matthew Wu, Lillian Xie and Iven Yang, Paul Laurence Dunbar High School; Nicholas Waltman, Sayre School; Ian Hafley, Tates Creek High School; Andrew Brooks and Samuel Doty, Trinity Christian Academy; Nicholasville: Noah Dixon, Catherine Graham and Bradley Phelps, West Jessamine High School; Richmond: Cole Milde, home school; Maya Gershtenson, Stephanie McCornick and Kyle Newsome, Model Laboratory School; Versailles: Oliver Everson, Woodford County High School; and Winchester: Katie Long, George Rogers Clark High School.

Typically about 90 percent of semifinalists advance in the competition, and more than half of those students will win scholarships. For details, visit

■ An Eastern Kentucky University graphic communications student has won a Best of Show Gutenberg Award at the 2013 International Graphic Arts Education Association Conference and several other EKU students have been recognized with first-, second- and third-place honors for individual and team submissions.

In the Web publishing category, Keith Hardiman, Richmond received Best of Show honors; first place went to Dylan Lakes, Cynthiana; second place, David Hall, Richmond; and third place, Amanda Winkler, Richmond.

A group project by Nichole Arbino, Loveland, Ohio; Alex Carson, Falmouth; Dylan Lakes, Cynthiana; Dawn Plunkett, Dry Ridge; and Catherine Thompson, Versailles, won an Excellence in Research award in the flexographic printing category.

LeeAnn Grant, Berea, and Chelsy Polivchak, Richmond, placed first in the screen printing category for work completed in specialty graphic imaging. In the screen printing textile category, Heather Moore, Burlington, earned a first-place award and Emily Sawyer, Monticello, placed third.

The team of Drew Slone, Lawenceburg; Cynthia Reynolds, Somerset; Dylan Lakes, Cynthiana; Erin Williams, Louisville; Alexa Klusman, Goshen; Jake Reaves, Dry Ridge; Tamara Perry, West Chester, Ohio; Michelle Oudeh, Nicholasville; Joe Segreti, Prospect; and Keith Hardiman, Richmond, took second place in the electronic publishing category group project.

The Gutenberg Award recognizes exceptional achievement in the field of graphic arts in three separate competitions: print, website and photography. Each of the entries was an assignment from courses taught by David W. Dailey and Marlow Marchant, Graphic Communications Management faculty in the Department of Applied Engineering and Technology, who chose their students' best work for contest submission.

■ For the fifth consecutive year, EKU has been named a Military-Friendly School by Victory Media, ranking in the top 20 percent of colleges, universities and trade schools nationwide that are doing the most to embrace America's military service members, veterans and spouses as students and ensure their success on campus. Two of the past three years, Eastern was honored by Military Times EDGE magazine as "Best for Vets," the number-one college or university in the country for its initiatives to help veterans further their education. More than 1,200 veterans and their dependents are enrolled at EKU, which in 2010 launched Operation Veteran Success, a series of initiatives designed to make the campus even more veteran-friendly.

Each of the last two years, EKU has produced a Tillman Military Scholar. Only 60 are selected each year from among 1,800 applicants. Eastern is one of 42 higher education institutions nationwide selected as Tillman Military Scholar Universities.

For more information about opportunities and services available to veterans and their dependents at EKU, visit or call (859) 622-2345.

■ A University of Kentucky doctoral student, Maria Apostolova, was one of 13 people chosen as a Horowitz Foundation grant recipient, and was named a winner of the Eli Ginzberg Award.

Apostolova is a fourth-year Ph.D. student in the Department of Economics Gatton College of Business and Economics. She is writing her dissertation, "Macroeconomic Effects and Microeconomic Determinants of Fertility" under the supervision of Jenny Minier, professor of economics.

Established in 1998, the Horowitz Foundation approves approximately 10 to 15 grants per year in amounts ranging from $5,000 to $7,500 per grant. Other recipients of the 2013 award include graduate students at Columbia, Brown and Princeton Universities.

The Eli Ginzberg Award is given for a project involving solutions to major health and welfare problems in urban settings.

■ The volleyball teams at Tates Creek and Morton middle schools have donated $1,000 to Susan G. Komen Lexington for breast cancer prevention, treatment and research. The players sold about 400 "Think Pink" T-shirts during this fall's fundraiser, which culminated with the teams' Sept. 18 "Dig for a Cure" match.

Tates Creek volleyball coach Sara King coordinated the effort with Morton's coach Rubin Jones.

Sara Leeanne Dobbins, a 2013 graduate of Paul Laurence Dunbar High School, has been awarded a $200 stipend from the American Legion Nathan Caulder Post 132 of Lexington. Sara is attending Western Kentucky University.


The Woodford County High School Class of 2003 will hold its 10-year reunion Oct. 11-12. Event and registration information is available at