Madison County: $10,000 CARES grants up for grabs

EKU's Center for Appalachian Regional Engagement and Stewardship is accepting proposals from communities throughout the university's 22-county service region for one of five $10,000 CARES community grants.

Activities within the following counties are eligible: Bell, Boyle, Casey, Clay, Estill, Garrard, Harlan, Jackson, Knox, Laurel, Lee, Leslie, Lincoln, McCreary, Madison, Owsley, Perry, Powell, Pulaski, Rockcastle, Wayne and Whitley.

Initiatives must include EKU partners and focus on one or more of the five following areas: economic and workforce development, education, environment, collaborative government, and health, wellness and safety. These might include, but are not limited to:

■ Strategic planning and management processes for communities.

■ Implementation of projects from a community-based strategic plan that cover one or more of the areas.

■ Training for citizen leaders, local officials, management and staff from non-profit community agencies, as well as boards or commissions.

■ Use of professional services to assess a project's feasibility, to offer consulting advice on a strategy, to support application development, etc.

■ Projects that emphasize broad community participation and involvement in the planning and implementation process.

CARES community grant funds may not be used to cover construction costs. Special consideration will be given to projects that impact counties designated by the Appalachian Regional Commission as distressed or in transition. The community grant programs will function on a reimbursement basis, and cost-share is required. Proposals are due to the CARES office by March 1, and may be submitted via email or fax to Karrie Adkins, project director, or (859) 622-3543.

Grant recipients will be announced in May. For more information about application procedures, eligibility guidelines and requisite forms, visit