Education notes: Feb. 4

Evan Sweet
Evan Sweet


■ The Leadership Lexington Youth Program will honor Sayre School senior Elizabeth Mechas with the Leadership Youth Distinguished Leader Award Thursday. The Distinguished Leader Award goes to a LLYP class member who shows the potential to make a difference in the community. Candidates should be dedicated to community service; be creative, strong communicators and possess strong interpersonal skills. The selection criteria also include attendance record, participation and willingness to reflect on all LLYP activities. Class members nominate candidates, and the program's steering committee selects the winner.

Evan Sweet, a University of Kentucky geography senior from Brooklyn, N.Y., presented the 20th annual Edward T. Breathitt Undergraduate Lectureship in the Humanities Jan. 30 in the UK Athletics Auditorium at William T. Young Library. Sweet's lecture focused on how slums are depicted in society and in particular in Oaxaca, Mexico.

The Breathitt Lectureship was named for an outstanding UK alumnus who showed an exceptional interest in higher education and the humanities, Gov. Edward T. Breathitt. The lectureship is awarded to an undergraduate who has eloquently expressed the qualities of mind and spirit, includeing one or more of the basic concerns of the humanities: form, value and memory. Each year all undergraduate students are invited to apply for the lectureship.

The Breathitt Scholar selected this topic while in Oaxaca, Mexico, on a study abroad trip sponsored by the UK Department of Geography. In recognition of his selection to deliver the Breathitt Lectureship, Sweet also will receive a commemorative award and a $500 honorarium.

■ The following Fayette County Public Schools students have been named candidates for this year's class of U.S. Presidential Scholars, which is one of the nation's most prestigious honors recognizing high school students' accomplishments in academics or the arts. Henry Clay: Leo de Castro, Connor Langley and Henry Russell; Lafayette: Marie Armbruster and Jane Herbener; Paul Laurence Dunbar: Christine Brandewie, Ryan Draper, Youn Seon Han, Megan Kamb, Athena Kern, John Luan, Nelson Ng, Valerie Sarge and Joseph Schneider.

The 2014 Presidential Scholars, who will be selected in the spring, will connect with government leaders, educators, authors, musicians, scientists and others in Washington, D.C., this summer. The new graduates will also grapple with global issues, volunteer for service projects, attend recitals and receptions, and tour area museums and monuments. Each student will also receive a Presidential Scholar Medallion.

■ Two robotics teams from Fayette County Public Schools earned kudos Jan. 11 in the First Lego League's Lexington/UK regional competition. The First Responders from Jessie Clark Middle School received a Robot Strategy & Innovation Award. This group included Ramsey Amoudi, Jonathan Browning, Tyler Ferry, Ben Maddox, Erin Remley, Sebastian Rojas and Ben You. Also, a team from Carter G. Woodson Academy received the Dr. Weston Johnson Against All Odds Award. This group included Tre Lewis, Jayden Lydian, Caleb Mensah, Amirion Ross, Jermaine Shegog and Byron Smith.

■ Eleven universities are set to battle in the 2nd Alltech Innovation Competition on April 26 at Bluegrass Community & Technical College — Newtown Campus, 500 Newtown Pike. In this year's competition, Alltech is seeking a business plan to capitalize on innovation in Kentucky's food and agriculture sectors. The grand prize of $20,000 will be awarded to a team from one of these colleges or universities: Asbury University, Eastern Kentucky University, Georgetown College, Kentucky State University, Morehead State University, Murray State University, Northern Kentucky University, University of Kentucky, University of Louisville, University of Pikeville and Western Kentucky University.

A highlights video from the 2013 Alltech Innovation Competition is available for viewing at

Bluegrass Community and Technical College has been named a finalist in the Advancing Diversity category in the American Association of Community Colleges Awards of Excellence. BCTC's Office of Multiculturalism and Inclusion includes Hispanic/Latino Outreach, Diversity Outreach, International Student Services, Upward Bound, Talent Search, Ready to Work and Work to Learn. Winners in each of six categories will be named April 7 in Washington, D.C.


■ On Friday the Lexington-Bluegrass Chapter of the National Association of Women In Construction will host its Annual Block Kids Building Competition at Meadowthorpe Elementary School. The purpose of this program is to introduce children to the construction industry, create awareness and promote interest in working in the industry. The competition requires participants to independently design and create a structure with interlocking Lego blocks and three of the following materials: A rock, a 12-inch piece of string, an 18-inch square foil, or an 18-by-18-inch piece of poster board. This year the competition will be open to 50 Meadowthorpe Elementary students. The winner may compete for the regional and national competitions.

Scholarship/program opportunities

■ The Kentucky Society of Certified Public Accountants is accepting applications through Feb. 28 for its tuition-free summer business camp program for high school juniors and seniors. Held June 8-12 at Bellarmine University's campus in Louisville, selected students will stay on campus and learn the basics of business and accounting in a hands-on, interactive format. Tuition, room and board, materials, meals, books, tours and activities at the camp are all provided free to selected participants. The only costs are a $25 nonrefundable application fee; and, if accepted, a $50 transportation fee. Students who cannot afford these fees may request a BASE Camp scholarship to cover the cost at For an application or more information, go to

The Bluegrass Central branch of the American Association of University Women will host one of 10 national Tech Savvy programs, the association's science, technology, engineering and math program for young women. The hands-on workshop for middle school girls in grades six through nine and their parents will be held at Kentucky State University May 17.

The Bluegrass Central branch includes women who live in Franklin, Fayette, Woodford, Madison, Jessamine and Boyle counties, but girls who live elsewhere in Kentucky are welcome to attend the day-long program in Frankfort.

The program is designed for middle school girls to experience opportunities and career prospects in STEM areas through hands-on sessions led by women presently working in STEM fields. The program also includes a track for parents, family members and teachers.

More information and registration is available at People interested in serving as volunteers for the event should contact Ramona Griffin at

Training events

Sayre School's 30th annual F. Kevin Simon History Symposium for secondary history and social studies teachers will be Feb. 22 on the Sayre campus, 194 North Limestone Street. This year's symposium, What's for Dinner? Food and Drink in America, features speakers Deborah Fitzgerald, MIT; Michael Veach, Filson Historical Society; and Robert Moss, Charleston, S.C.

To register, contact Kelly Fleckinstein at or call (859) 254-1361. For more information or questions about the program, visit