Education notes: Aug. 5


Roy Prince, director of transportation for Scott County Schools, has received the Lifetime Service Award from the Student Transportation Association of Kentucky and the Kentucky Department of Education Pupil Transportation. The award recognizes a lifetime commitment to the safety and well-being of students.

During his tenure at the state education department, he supervised transportation, managed safety programs, trained more than 7,500 bus drivers, and worked with Kentucky State Police to administer the commercial driver's license test for bus drivers.

Declan C. Keegan of Versailles has received a $5,000 Multicultural Award and $4,000 Gateway Grant to attend Wilmington College in Ohio. He plans to major in athletic training. Declan is a 2014 graduate of Woodford County High School, where he participated in lacrosse, ice hockey (all-state team member) and diving (state qualifier). He is the son of Tara A. Keegan.

Women Leading Kentucky has named the following recipients of awards and scholarships totaling $9,500. Winners include: Rodricka Brice of Lancaster, S.C., who attends Kentucky State University in Frankfort, majoring in business administration, $1,500; Faye Elizabeth Barry of Huntsville, Ala., who attends Berea College, majoring in business, $1,500; Cassandra Burns of Louisville, who attends the University of Kentucky, majoring in nursing, $1,500; Mary Hillwig of Pikeville, who attends the University of Kentucky, majoring in mining/engineering, $1,500; Patricia Ann Watson of Berea, who attends Berea College, majoring in child and family studies, $1,500; Abigail Adams of Georgetown, who attended Lexington Catholic High School and is enrolled at Eastern Kentucky University, $1,500; The New Opportunity School for Women in Berea, to help women in Appalachia rebuild their lives and shape their futures through education, guidance and career development, $500. For more information, go to

The 2,403 seniors who graduated from Fayette County Public Schools in June have reported more than $81 million in scholarship offers to further their educations. Scholarships amounts awarded by school were: Bryan Station, $6.2 million; Henry Clay, $19.7 million; Lafayette, $29.7 million; Paul Laurence Dunbar, $12.3 million; and Tates Creek, $13.1 million. The latest alumni of local high schools have been accepted at more than 230 universities, colleges and technical schools ranging from Alabama Agricultural and Mechanical University to Xavier, and students are fanning out from Southern California to Saudi Arabia in the fall.


■ Students in pre-K through grade 12 may receive free haircuts during the Clark County Community Back to School Cut and Curl event. More than 31 hairdressers will be on hand from 10:30 a.m. to 1:30 p.m. Thursday, 12:30 to 3:30 p.m. Friday and 10:30 a.m. to 1:30 p.m. Monday at the CTE College of Cosmetology, 2135 Bypass Road, Winchester. For more information, call (859) 744-3361.