Education news of interest in Central Kentucky.

Dot Perkins
Dot Perkins


Emily Salamanca, a junior at Henry Clay, is among six Kentucky public high school students named to the Next-Generation Student Advisory Council, which provides input to state Education Commissioner Terry Holliday. The new members will join five returning council members Oct. 29 in Frankfort at their first meeting for 2014-15.

The Next-Generation Student Council, a year-long program for students in grades 10-12, is composed of a diverse group of students with ideas and insight into how public schools and student achievement can be improved.

■ The Kentucky Association for Psychology in the Schools honored two employees from Fayette County Public Schools at this fall's state conference in Louisville.

Tracie Carrico of Tates Creek High School was named School Psychologist of the Year and will be Kentucky's nominee for the national-level award. She also received a Best Practices Award for her work on Tates Creek's Student Assistance Team and Threat Assessment Team and the district's Crisis Intervention Team. Meanwhile, Katy Peterson of Arlington and Russell Cave elementary schools, received a state-level Best Practices Award for her work with students with behavioral issues (leadership, consultation and counseling) and the regional award for the Central Kentucky Educational Cooperative.


■ Students ages 9 to 18 are invited to submit short films (15 minutes maximum) for Filmslang 2014, a festival of local and regional films. Fiction, documentary, music video and animation are all eligible. Selected movies will be screened at the Lexington Public Library's Farish Theater starting at 2 p.m. Nov. 1.

The deadline for submissions is Wednesday. Send an online link to or take a DVD to Lexington Public Library, 104 East Main Street. For more info, call (859) 231-5597.

■ The statewide Keep It Real video contest has returned after a one-year hiatus as Keep It Real: Remix, with a bigger reach and broader focus. Previously, the emphasis was high school students' discouraging their peers from underage drinking. This year's additional themes are: Prescription Drug Abuse Kills and Don't Get Hooked on Nicotine.

Students compete for cash prizes and the chance to have their 30-second public service announcement air on regional television and as pre-show ads in local movie theaters.

The entry deadline is Dec. 12. Online voting is set for Jan. 5-16, and the awards ceremony will be in February at the Kentucky Theatre. Details at For questions, call Sharon Tankersley at (859) 225-3296, Ext. 658.

■ Elementary schools are encouraged to register with the Lexington Legends to get their school involved in the Hit the Books reading program for the 2014-15 school year.

To begin the process, educators must register with the Legends by Nov. 14 to ensure their school's participation. Information is available at


■ Retired Gallatin Superintendent Dot Perkins has been named chief executive officer of the Central Kentucky Educational Cooperative. The following have been named board officers for the 2014-15 school year: Washington County Superintendent Robin Cochran, president; Paris Independent Superintendent Gary Wiseman, vice president; Mercer County Superintendent Dennis Davis, treasurer; Woodford County Superintendent Scott Hawkins, member at large; and Nelson County Superintendent Anthony Orr, past president.