Education news of interest in Central Kentucky.

Dimitri Leggas
Dimitri Leggas


Dimitri Leggas of Lexington is one of six students at The Gatton Academy of Mathematics and Science in Bowling Green who has been recognized by the Siemens Foundation as national semifinalist in the 2014 Siemens Competition in Math, Science & Technology.

The Siemens competition is known as the nation's premier research program for high school students. This year the competition received a record 1,780 projects for consideration. Approximately 400 were named semifinalists.

■ Thirty Fayette County students have been accepted into U.S. Rep. Andy Barr's Congressional Youth Ambassador Program. The nonpartisan program, which is in its inaugural year, allows junior and senior high school students from across the 19 counties that make up the 6th Congressional District to come together to learn valuable leadership skills from top commonwealth leaders while serving as an ambassador for their schools.

The students will meets four times during the school year, with each session focusing on one of the following topics: government, education, military and business.

The following Fayette County students have been accepted into the 2014 Congressional Youth Ambassador Program: Alice Li, Paul Laurence Dunbar High School, senior; Amelia Clark, Bryan Station High School, junior; Andrew Hardy, Henry Clay High School, junior; Ashley Hayes, Blue Grass Baptist School, senior; Astha Patel, Henry Clay, senior; Brian Craven, Sayre School, junior; Brooke Lyons, Lafayette High School, junior; Chris Ward, Lafayette, senior; Daniel Wahl, Paul Laurence Dunbar, senior; David Dabney II, Sayre School, senior; David Trapp, Sayre School, senior; Derris Stanland, Lexington Christian Academy, junior; Desmond Howard, Bryan Station, senior; Eliza Schaeffer, Henry Clay, junior; Emily Chavez, Henry Clay, junior; Emily Salamanca, Henry Clay, junior; Esther Putnam, Lafayette, senior; Ethan Peck, Lafayette, junior; Faizan Ahmed, Paul Laurence Dunbar, senior; Mary Burton, Henry Clay, senior; McKaylee Copher, Sayre School, junior; Mikayla Mitchell, Lexington Christian Academy, junior; Morgan Barnhardt, Sayre School, senior; Muna Shakhashiro, Tates Creek High School, junior Mustafa Akhtar, Sayre School, junior; Parin Rekhraj, Paul Laurence Dunbar, junior; Peter Kirk, Henry Clay, senior; Ross Boggess, Henry Clay, senior; Samuel Waltman, Sayre School, junior; and Tayler Banks, Henry Clay, junior.


Greg Gorbett, associate professor in the Department of Fire Protection and Paramedicine Sciences at Eastern Kentucky University, has been selected to a three-year term as a member of the Crime Scene/Death Investigation Scientific Area Committee's Fire Scene and Explosives Subcommittee within the Organization of Scientific Area Committees.

Gorbett also serves as coordinator of EKU's Fire, Arson and Explosion Investigation degree program. For more information about the program, go to