2015 Youth Salute winners named

Anna Abrams
Anna Abrams

A Paul Laurence Dunbar High School junior, Zainab Kahloon, and a Powell County High School junior, Zebadiah Faulkner, were named Youth Leaders of the Year during awards ceremonies held May 3 at Georgetown College.

Zainab, the daughter of Mansha and Fahmida Kahloon, was named Lexington's 2015 Youth Leader of the Year. She received a $500 scholarship plus a free trip, sponsored by Holifield Photography, to attend the National Council on Youth Leadership Conference at Washington University in St. Louis.

She was varsity captain of the academic team; program and speakers chair of Youth of Lexington; treasurer of the Brainiacs Club; midwest regional executive committee chair of Muslim Youth of North America, and a member of the Beta Club, National Honor Society, Spanish Honor Society and the yearbook staff.

Zebadiah, the son of Ricky and Carol Faulkner, was named 2015 Central Kentucky Youth Leader of the Year. He also received a $500 scholarship plus the free trip, sponsored by Holifield Photography, to attend the National Council on Youth Leadership conference at Washington University in St. Louis.

He served as lieutenant governor of Key Club Division 9 and Youth Ambassador for the YSC and was vice president of his junior class and Key Club secretary. He was a member of the Beta Club, Spanish Club, Academic Team, Powell County High School marching band and Pep Band, as well as a member of Grace Anointed Drama Team and vice president and chaplain for the Upper Room.

Four other students were winners of the free trip to the National Council on Youth Leadership Conference in St. Louis at Washington University. They will join other Youth Salute leaders from across the nation Oct. 17-20 and will compete for national awards. They are Noah Welch, Henry Clay; Micheala McCane, Franklin County; Manda Bwerevu, Lexington Catholic, and Megan Wilhoite, Owen County.

Individual school winners, from among 819 outstanding high school juniors, from 45 Central Kentucky high schools were recognized at the 35th annual Youth Salute awards ceremony. The top school winners are: Anderson County, Simon Buckner Yount; Bath County, Porsche DiAnn Maness; Berea Community, Claire Sandberg; Bourbon Christian Academy, Maria Worthington; Bourbon County, Miranda Dampier; Boyle County, Brianna Adams; Bryan Station, Destiny Cozart; Burgin Independent, Jonathan Hale; Carter G. Woodson Academy, Leander Ridgeway Jr.; Casey County, Courtney Buis; Christian Academy of Lawrenceburg, Brooklyn Carpenter; Danville, Embry Ochs; Danville Christian Academy, Clay Bisher; East Jessamine, Amanda Moberly; Estill County, Kordel Lee Day; Fleming County, Ashley Bowling; Frankfort, BriAnna Burbridge; Franklin County, Micheala Raye McCane; Garrard County, Anna Abrams; George Rogers Clark, Shelby Stocker; Harrison County, Jared Thomas; Henry Clay, Noah Welch; Home Schools, Stephanie Snyder; Lafayette, Jacquelynn Brian; Lexington Catholic, Manda Bwerevu; Lexington Christian Academy, Derris Stanland; Lincoln County, Grayson Deborah Yaden; Madison Central, Ivanna Sabino; Madison Southern, Adriannah Willis; Menifee County, Taylor Wayman; Mercer County, Haley Peyton Anderson; Model Lab, Vivian Nguyen; Montgomery County, Haleigh Ralls; Owen County, Megan Wilhoite; Paris, Autumn Youngs; Paul Laurence Dunbar, Zainab Kahloon; Powell County, Zebadiah Faulkner; Scott County, Savannah Lambert; Somerset, Hannah Grace Whitaker; Tates Creek, Amani Shalash; Trinity Christian Academy, Cassidy Louis Sproul; Washington County, Hannah Maria Edelen; West Jessamine, Lydia Burns; Western Hills, Rachael Hudson; and Woodford County, Evelyn Calloway Hicks.

Asbury University awarded $20,000 in scholarships. Five students received $4,000 each. The winners were Kayla Beebout, Henry Clay; Evan Blue Cornett, Christian Academy of Lawrenceburg; Benjamin Workman, Trinity Christian Academy; Sascha Claire Campbell Stryker, West Jessamine, and Emily Hicks, Woodford County.

Eastern Kentucky University awarded $20,000 in scholarships. Five students received $4,000 each. The winners were Kordel Lee Day, Estill County; Ashleigh Dozier, Estill County; Hannah Grace Whitaker, Somerset; Boone Tucker, Estill County, and Randa Morris, Garrard County.

Georgetown College also awarded $20,000 in scholarships. Five students received $4,000 each. The winners were Laney Taylor, Scott County; Ivanna Sabino, Madison Central; Emily Deborah Paige Jones, Madison Central; Haleigh Ralls, Montgomery County, and Maria Rojas, Berea Community.

Midway College awarded one $4,000 scholarship. The winner was Lydia Burns, West Jessamine.

Four ACT/SAT Preparation Courses, valued at $500 each and provided by Class 101, were awarded to Hannah Maria Edelen, Washington County; Lydia Burns, West Jessamine; Adriannah Willis, Madison Southern and Kordel Lee Day, Estill County.

Five leadership awards of $100 each provided by Central Bank & Trust Co. were awarded to Caroline Quigley, Lexington Catholic; Vivian Nguyen, Model Lab; Savannah Lambert, Scott County; Myles Murray, Henry Clay and Evelyn Callie Hicks, Woodford County

The Youth Salute is conducted annually through the National Council on Youth Leadership in cooperation with the Central Kentucky Council on Youth Leadership.

"Students must be nominated by their high school counselors, teachers, principals and other community leaders to participate in Youth Salute," said Jim Holifield, Chairman of the Central Kentucky Council on Youth Leadership. All nominees must be high school juniors at the time they are nominated, have at least a 3.0 grade point average and have been chosen by their peers or an adult leader for at least two leadership roles in school, religious or community sponsored organizations during the past two years.