Five to be inducted Jan. 28 into Kentucky Writers Hall of Fame

The Carnegie Center has announced five inductees into the 2016 Kentucky Writers Hall of Fame, including the second living author to join the esteemed hall: Bobbie Ann Mason.

“Bobbie Ann has been one of Kentucky’s premier writers for more than 40 years,” said Neil Chethik, executive director of the center. “She’s a pioneer in short-story writing and a true literary artist. We are thrilled to be honoring her.”

The five winners, including four deceased inductees James Lane Allen, Harlan Hubbard, Alice Hegan Rice and Jean Ritchie, will be honored at the induction ceremony slated for 7 p.m. Jan. 28 at the Carnegie Center. Doors will open at 6:30 p.m., which is free. Light refreshments will be provided, as will a special musical performance from Ritchie’s Nieces, a group comprised of 2016 inductee Jean Ritchie’s actual nieces.