Young Achievers program honors top 5th- and 8th-grade students

By Dorothea Wingo

Claudia Rodgers
Claudia Rodgers

A top winner from each participating elementary and middle school in Central Kentucky has been named by the Young Achievers program for the 2015-16 school year.

The program recognizes 5th- and-8th graders in the community who serve as positive role models for their peers, demonstrate achievement in a variety of areas, exhibit good citizenship in their schools and communities, and maintain satisfactory records of school attendance and scholastic achievement.

Each winner will receive a Young Achievers gold medallion, T-shirt and book bag. The students were nominated by their principals, guidance counselors, teachers and adult leaders. Holifield Photography sponsored Young Achievers in cooperation with the International Leadership Network, a non-profit, charitable, 501(c)(3) organization.

Holifield Photography has helped develop the Young Achievers program in Central Kentucky over the past 26 years.

To make the community aware of the student’s achievements, they were all photographed by Holifield Photography for a display, which was shown at Fayette Mall and the students’ schools during the 2015-16 school year. The display panels carried biographical information about each student’s accomplishments and photographs depicting their interests, hobbies and activities.

The following is a list of the top school winners:

Grade 5 winners

▪ Linden McGregor, Ashland Elementary School

▪ Isabella Galavotti, Athens-Chilesburg Elementary School

▪ Cai Wilson, Booker T. Washington Elementary School

▪ Nevaeh Grimes, Breckinridge Elementary School

▪ Clara Hawley, Cardinal Valley Elementary School

▪ Caroline Carden Mitcham, Cassidy Elementary School

▪ Ian Salsburey, Clays Mill Elementary School

▪ Chelsie Marann Holderby, Deep Springs Elementary School

▪ Weston Pentecost, Dixie Elementary School

▪ Taylor McCardle, Garden Springs Elementary School

▪ Jeremiah Quisenberry, Harrison Elementary School

▪ Ava Brooke Wade, Julius Marks Elementary School

▪ Mason Grant Bowling, Lansdowne Elementary School

▪ Parker Hadley, Lexington Christian Academy

▪ Valerie O’Nan, Lexington Latin School

▪ Kevin Nevarez, Liberty Elementary School

▪ Lillian Hale Hodge, Mary Queen of the Holy Rosary School

▪ Shianne Martin, Mary Todd Elementary School

▪ Landon Pierce Hodge, Maxwell Elementary School

▪ Victoria Geyling, Meadowthorpe Elementary

▪ Olivia R. Evans, Millcreek Elementary School

▪ Conner Claypool, Northern Elementary School

▪ Ashawnti Ransom, Paris Elementary School

▪ Xavier Harmon, Picadome Elementary School

▪ Caroline Elizabeth Schweighardt, Rosa Parks Elementary School

▪ Marisol Calvo, Russell Cave Elementary School

▪ Bailey Ooten, Sandersville Elementary School

▪ Kennevah Miller, Seton Catholic School

▪ Jenna Moseley, Squires Elementary School

▪  Ellie Stevens, Sts. Peter and Paul School

▪ Brock Michael Kaczmarek, Stonewall Elementary School

▪ Aubrey Horvath, Summit Christian Academy

▪ Carly M’lynn Brown, Tates Creek Elementary School

▪ Katelyn Hope Jordan, Veterans Park Elementary School

▪ Claudia Rodgers, Wellington Elementary

▪ Laurel Setzer, Wilmore Elementary School

▪ Pamela Jean Kaylynn Allen, Yates Elementary School

Grade 8 winners

▪ Noella Stanley, Beaumont Middle School

▪ Betsy Mullins, Bryan Station Middle School

▪ Dylan Benton, Carter G. Woodson Academy

▪ Oluwaseun Adekunle, Crawford Middle School

▪ Sylesh Jagannathan, Edythe J Hayes Middle School

▪ John Combs IV, Jessie Clark Middle School

▪ Dalton Stanland, Lexington Christian Academy

▪ Will McArthur, Lexington Latin School

▪ Promise Kayembe, Leestown Middle School

▪ Ray Surratt, Lexington Traditional Magnet School

▪ Mariana Arias, Mary Queen of the Holy Rosary School

▪ Rosemary Carruthers, Morton Middle School

▪ Caroline Grace Curry, Providence Montessori Middle

▪ Sarah Catherine Hsiuyue Perry, SCAPA

▪ Megan Shaw, Seton Catholic School

▪ Lauren Hickey, Southern Middle School

▪ Lauren Depa, Sts. Peter and Paul School

▪ Sydney Duncan, Summit Christian Academy

▪ Luke Douglas Campbell, Tates Creek Middle School

▪ Rocco Wrentmore, Winburn Middle School