52 students honored in 2016 Youth Salute

Emily Elizabeth Adams
Emily Elizabeth Adams Photo provided

A Henry Clay High School junior, Hye Jee Kim, and an Alpha Omega Home School junior, John Noe II, have been named Youth Leaders of the Year during awards ceremonies held May 8 at Asbury University.

Kim, daughter of Eun Jung Bae and Yung Soo, Kim was named Lexington’s 2016 Youth Leader of the Year. She received a $500 scholarship plus an all-expenses-paid trip, sponsored by Holifield Photography, to attend the National Council on Youth Leadership Conference at Washington University in St. Louis.

Kim serves on the Mayor’s Youth Council Leadership Team. She is the co-vice president of Model United Nations, writing center junior public relations leader, and co-founder and leader of the Principal’s Student Advisory Council. She has also been involved in Leadership Lexington Youth Program, Sixth Congressional District Youth Ambassador, and is the assistant principal violist for the Central Kentucky Youth Orchestra.

Noe II, son of John and Melissa Noe, was named 2016 Central Kentucky Youth Leader of the Year. He received a $500 scholarship plus an all-expenses-paid trip, sponsored by Holifield Photography, to attend the National Council on Youth Leadership conference.

Noe II has served as Kentucky 4-H State Council member, Kentucky Teen Court member, 21st Century Electronics Class assistant, Hoops for Heart facilitator, vice president of the Lincoln County 4-H Home School Club, and Arts Festival games leader. He is a certified soccer referee, played on the Home School Basketball League and is a member of the Garrard County football team.

Four other students also won an all-expenses-paid trip to the National Council on Youth Leadership Conference. They will join other Youth Salute leaders from across the nation at the four-day event October 15-18, and will compete for national awards. They are Kennedy Sabharwal, Sayre; Maison Nichols, Madison Central; Zebulon James Hart, Montgomery County; and Cameron Hedden, Shelby County.

Individual school winners, from among 816 high school juniors from 52 Central Kentucky high schools, were recognized at the Youth Salute awards ceremony. The awards are in their 36th year. The top school winners are: Adams Academy, Emily Elizabeth Adams; Alpha Omega Home School, John Noe II; Anderson County, Dalton Lewis; Berea Community, Karmadri Q. Santiago; Bourbon County, Landon Bowman; Boyle County, Ethan Brooks Baker; Bryan Station, Molly Marchaterre; Burgin Independent, James Wallace; Carter G. Woodson Academy, Joshua Woolridge; Casey County, Breece Hayes II; Christian Academy of Lawrenceburg, Sophia Hartlyn Etherington; Danville, McCallum Morley; Danville Christian Academy, Ethan Garrett Gray; East Jessamine, Josiah B. Renner; Estill County, Samantha Puckett; Fleming County, Gabrielle Emmons; Frankfort, Emily Leamon; Frankfort Christian Academy, Noah Wills; Franklin County, Britni Graves; Garrard County, Meredith Lee Wright; George Rogers Clark, Taylor Kincaid; Harrison County, Lucas Carr Slucher; Henry Clay, Hye Jee Kim; Henry County, Jacob Rayburn; Lafayette, William J. Yi; Lexington Catholic, Caroline Hourigan; Lexington Christian Academy, Elizabeth Ransdell; Lincoln County, Kayla Cox; Madison Central, Maison Nichols; Madison Southern, Bethanie Maynard; Menifee County, Tyler Jones; Mercer County, Aubrey D. Jones; Model Lab, Sahana Holla; Montgomery County, Zebulon James Hart; Nicholas County, James Campbell; Owen County, Brandi Mears; Paris, Shelbie Makenzie Stamper; Paul Laurence Dunbar, Andrew Wesley Albrecht; Pendleton County, Avery Booth; Powell County, Tiffany Burton; Rockcastle County, Andrew Ponder; Sayre, Kennedy Sabharwal; Scott County, Trevor Lee Cronin; Shelby County, Cameron Hedden; Somerset, Marah Qasem; STEAM Academy, Stephanie Bamfo; Tates Creek, Ramy Ghanim; Trinity Christian Academy, Ryan David Carter; Washington County, Alex Rucker Cochran; West Jessamine, Nathan Fielder; Western Hills, Nicholas Woolridge; and Woodford County, Ellington King.

Asbury University awarded $20,000 in scholarships. Five students received $4,000 each. The winners were Morgan Owen, Lafayette; Brooklyn Bringar, Lexington Christian Academy; Elizabeth Ransdell, Lexington Christian Academy; Brooke Scott, Lexington Christian Academy; and Ryan Carter, Trinity Christian Academy.

Eastern Kentucky University awarded $20,000 in scholarships. Five students received $4,000 each. The winners were Samatha Puckett, Estill County; Hayden Knight, Madison Southern; Caroline Wyant, Montgomery County; Brandi Mears, Owen County; and Joseph Girouard III, Woodford County.

Georgetown College also awarded $20,000 in scholarships. Five students received $4,000 each. The winners were Blake Borwig, Anderson County; Sydney Claypoole, Model Lab; Ethan Garrett Gray, Danville Christian; Nicole Owens, Tates Creek; and Josh Wooldridge, Carter G. Woodson Academy.

Five ACT/SAT Preparation Courses valued at $500 each, provided by Class 101, were awarded to Sahana Holla, Model Lab; Ryan David Carter, Trinity Christian Academy; Aubrey Jones, Mercer County; Gabrielle Emmons, Fleming County; and Andrew Wesley Albrecht, Paul Laurence Dunbar.

Five leadership awards of $100 each, provided by Central Bank & Trust Co., were awarded to Emily Elizabeth Adams, Adams Academy; Lukas Carr Slucher, Harrison County; Samantha Puckett, Estill County; Kayla Cox, Lincoln County; and McCallum Morley, Danville.

The Youth Salute is conducted annually through the National Council on Youth Leadership in cooperation with the Central Kentucky Council on Youth Leadership.

“Students must be nominated by their high school counselors, teachers, principals and other community leaders to participate in Youth Salute,” said Jim Holifield, chairman of the Central Kentucky Council on Youth Leadership. “All nominees must be high school juniors at the time they are nominated, have at least a 3.0 grade point average and have been chosen by their peers or an adult leader for at least two leadership roles in school, religious or community-sponsored organizations during the past two years.”