Fayette County

Timothy M. Kelly wins Lewis E. Owens award; press association winners announced

Timothy M. Kelly, who retired as the Herald-Leader's publisher last year, on Friday was named the winner of the Lewis E. Owens award for community service during the Kentucky Press Association's annual convention in Lexington.

The award is named after a former Herald-Leader publisher and long-time supporter of the press association, who died of Lou Gehrig's disease in 1998. Kelly was the Herald-Leader's publisher for 15 years; he was also editor of the paper from 1991 to 1996.

During his tenure, the paper won two Pulitzer Prizes and two President's Awards from the paper's corporate parent, The McClatchy Co. Kelly has served on many community boards, including the Kentucky Blood Center and Commerce Lexington. For several years, Kelly has been on the national board of the YMCA of the U.S.A.

The Barry Bingham Sr. Freedom of Information Award was presented Friday night to Franklin Circuit Court Judge Phillip Shepherd, who ruled that the state Cabinet for Health and Family Services improperly withheld records on children who died or were hurt because of abuse and neglect. The award is named in memory of the late publisher of the Louisville Courier-Journal who fought for many years to ensure the public and the press had access to all information that should be made public. It is given periodically by the Courier-Journal to a person who exhibits the tenacity in fighting for the public's right to know.

Also Friday, the KPA announced winners of its Excellence in Kentucky Newspapers competition for 2011. The Herald-Leader was recognized for general excellence, as were the Todd County Standard, Elkton; LaRue County Herald-News, Hodgenville; Anderson News, Lawrenceburg; Shelbyville Sentinel-News; Winchester Sun, Kentucky New Era, Hopkinsville; Fort Campbell Courier; and the Kentucky Kernel, University of Kentucky.

Related stories from Lexington Herald Leader