Fayette County

Fairness Awards presented to gay-equality advocates

Lexington Fairness presented its six annual Fairness Awards on Friday night at the Hilton Lexington/Downtown Hotel. The organization honored five community leaders for their commitment to advancing lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender equality and fairness.

Recipients are: Stephanie Oghia, Ally for Fairness Award; the Rev. Marsha Charles, Jennifer Crossen Out for Fairness Award; Fred Worsham and Shotz Witha Z, Fairness Leadership Award; and Craig Cammack, Ernesto Scorsone Political Leadership Award.

Recipients are chosen from nominations submitted by the public and selected by a committee of volunteer leaders from LGBT community organizations.

The Fairness Awards came a week before the Lexington Pride Festival, which will be June 29 in downtown Lexington.